3. . . 2 . . . 1 . . .

A few months ago I decided I wanted to dedicate a space to all things bookish.  I created a second blog, went through the  process of getting all of my book related content housed and organized. A couple of days after I was ready to reveal my new book space, Molly posted about group blogging.

I immediately became enamored with the idea. I was so into it that I decided to make my book blog a vehicle for a group blog.  I abandoned the space I had worked on in favor of creating this-a place for a group of likeminded, book-loving, quirky women as opposed to one lone quirky girl.

Six Degrees of Bloggers (aka the back story)

Molly and I have been blog buddies for a while now, so of course she was the first person I spoke to about my idea. Not to mention it was her post that got me buzzing.  I was a little afraid to ask her to participate because she has so much on her plate already, but I am a firm believer in asking anyway, which I did, and she replied with an enthusiastic yes.

One of Molly’s dedicated readers, Margot, had commented on the group blog post, expressing her interest in the idea. I reached out and asked her if she would like to join this new venture, despite the fact that she didn’t know me outside of being one of Molly’s readers.  Margot and I exchanged a few emails discussing logistics. Ultimately, she was decidedly in.

I have two real life friends, Izzy and Faith, that share a passion for books and are fellow bloggers. They were the ones who introduced me to the world of blogging and inspired me to create my own.  They also happen to be sisters.  Right off the bat I knew I wanted to ask them. I wasn’t sure if they would be up for it, but they too were in.

The Girls:

pride and prejudice

Izzy:

avid dog-lover, actress, writer, Joss fan, Harry Potter-phile

quirk: cannot eat berries of any kind

 lives in Fort Worth, TX

faithFaith:

dog-lover, movie-phile, writer, cook, shoe-addict

quirk-always wears mismatched socks

lives in North Richland Hills, TX

Molly:

 Red Sox fan, photographer, fantasy league champ, avid traveler

quirk: must organize all food on plate before she can begin eating

                                                          lives in Natick, MA

margotMargot:

foodie, RV nomad, movie-lover, knitter

quirk: is an obsessive list-maker

 currently located in Northern California

jeharaJehara:

veghead, aspiring director, yoga-lover, francophile

quirk: always smells rice before she eats it (because it smells sooo good)

                                           lives in Phoenix, AZ

This entry was posted in Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 3. . . 2 . . . 1 . . .

  1. Janet says:

    congrats on your new venture! And your comment about smelling rice made me remember how my [2nd] ex-husband used to criticize me for smelling food!

  2. kaye says:

    this sounds like it will be a lot of fun. I’m interested to see how the blog shapes itself. I read Molly and Margot and enjoy both their blogs and their personalities very much. I love all things bookish as well. I had a separate book blog for about a year and then decided to merge it with my main blog at the beginning of this year. I do enjoy the meme’s, challenges and especially the read-a-longs. I also love reading all the differing views on books. I have come across so many books that I would never have known about if it weren’t for the book blogging community.

  3. Woohoo! I’m so excited to be an official Quirky Girl! Thanks for getting this going. Now the hard part–deciding which book I’ll review first.

  4. Ti says:

    Love the name… looks good ladies!

  5. Congratulations to all of you on your new collaboration. I’ll be keeping an eye on your “quirks”.

  6. Kay says:

    I’m excited about reading what you quirky girls have to say. I know Margot from way back and have stumbled upon Molly as well. I’ll look forward to getting to know all of you. Besides, I’m a Texas girl and so are two of you. Gotta support the homefront!

  7. Kathleen says:

    What a great idea! I look forward to all of the wonderful posts you gals come up with!

  8. izzybella says:

    Thank you so much! We’re excited to share our quirky reads. 🙂

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    Looking forward to your new venture, girls 🙂

  10. What a great idea; looking forward to many many great posts. thanks ladies.

  11. ds says:

    Great idea–great blog! Can’t wait to read your “quirky” thoughts on books. Best of luck to each and all!

  12. Margot says:

    Thanks everyone for stopping by and getting us off to a good start. It’s great to be a part of the Quirky Girls.

  13. MWK says:

    Yaaaay quirkygirls! I’m cheering you on all the way!

  14. MWK says:

    Um…I’m commenting again so that I can suscribe (wordpress confuses me). YAAAAY QUIRKY GIRLS!!

  15. shawna says:

    Hooray! I love this idea. Can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  16. agirlwrites says:

    Fab blog idea. Following along for sure.

  17. Staci says:

    So loving this idea and looking forward to spending time here 😀

  18. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Welcome! |

Leave a Reply

