Review: Fallen

Name of Book: Fallen
By: Lauren Kate
Publisher: Delacorte Press (Random House Children’s Books)
Copyright Date: 2009 
Number of Pages: 271
Format: YA Fiction 
Reason for Reading: Enchanting Cover
Rating: A+

“If I leave, I save your life.” He spoke slowly, trying to reach a part of her that might remember. Was it there at all, buried somewhere? “Some things are more important than love. You won’t understand, but you have to trust me.”

Luce is sent to the Sword & Cross School, a Savannah Georgia institute for troubled teens–reform school, as it were–, after a mysterious accident wherein another boy is burned to death.  There she makes friends with Arianne and Penn, and becomes as obsessed with the elusive Daniel Grigori as another student, Cam, seems to be obsessed with her.  Luce also makes an instant enemy, the hostile stiletto-heeled Molly, who baptizes Luce with a tray of meatloaf and beets in the cafeteria.

While Luce and Penn try to unravel Daniel’s secrets, mysterious accidents continue to occur, including a library fire that takes the life of another student while Luce, Penn, and agreeable librarian Sophia Bliss manage to escape.  But nothing and no one can be taken at face value at Sword and Cross School.

What I liked: The story unraveled slowly and deliberately, and, like Luce, I was still discovering things on the very last page. It left me very eager for the sequels, one of which I purchased and read the same day, and the other of which is due out later this year.

What I didn’t like: Really, there was nothing not to like. It’s a well-told story and it kept up my attention.  I hope to read many more books by Lauren Kate.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Fiction, paranormal, Posts by Faith, YA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review: Fallen

  1. jehara says:

    I have been curious about this series. Is Hush, Hush part of it? You are right about the covers.

  2. The second book is Torment, and the third is Passion (coming out on June 14th). She also wrote The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove, which I read and liked quite well. I’ll actually probably review that one next, for reasons that you’ll find out if you read it. 🙂

  3. Bumbles says:

    Well, one thing I would not like about it – “hostile stiletto-heeled Molly”. I don’t like reading books when the character shares my name – especially when she is a bully!!!

    Seriously though – it is a bit distracting to read your name and not be distracted by it. Same thing happens to me with TV and movies. Although I must say, I didn’t have that tough a time listening to Patrick Swayze say my name over and over in Ghost ;0)

  4. Heather says:

    I’ve heard good and bad about this series. I bought the first one and haven’t gotten to it yet. Makes me wonder what camp I’ll fall into!

  5. Molly, I hadn’t thought of that. I can imagine it would be distracting. (and Patrick Swayze could say my name over and over any time!!)

  6. Hope you like it, Heather. Please come back and share your opinion once you’ve read it!

  7. Kathleen says:

    I’ve heard good things about this one before and have added it to my list. Nice review!

Leave a Reply

