Teaser Tuesday: #2

teaser tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.  Anyone can play along! Grab a book you are reading, open to a random page and pull two sentences. Post the book title, author, and page number. No spoilers, please. 🙂

the count of monte cristo

“Moral wounds have this peculiarity,–they may be hidden, but they never close; always painful, always ready to bleed when touched, they remain fresh and open in the heart.
 
“The article having been read during the painful hush that followed, a universal shudder pervaded the assembly, and immediately the closest attention was given to the orator as he resumed his remarks.”

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, Chapter 86, Kobo edition (Molly)

anne of the island

“Their names are Gog and Magog.  Gog looks to the right and Magog to the left.”

Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery, page 460 Nook edition (Izzy)

table of contents

“Food is often used as a plot device, a way of establishing historical or cultural context, or a method for revealing character in literature. But what we find most fascinating are the stories behind these references.”

Table of Contents by Judy Gelman and Vicky Levy Krupp, (Margot)

tattoo

“I’d been here before, not that it had done me a heaping lot of good, but as long as I was standing on the Seal, as long as I was wherever it was that Adea and Valgius had been bringing me, I was going to get some answers. They owed me that much.”

Tattoo by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, page 128 (Faith)

the bitch in the house

“I am talking in my Mr. Roger’s voice as my desperation rises. Any minute now my head is going to blast off my body, burst through the screen door, and buzz around my little town, eventually losing steam before landing with a thud somewhere near the train station, where it will be run over by one of my smiling neighbors being picked up by what I imagine are calm spouses who will drive them calmly home to houses calm and collected where the children are already bathed and ready for bed.”

The Bitch in the House: 26 Women Tell the Truth About Sex, Solitude, Work, Motherhood, and Marriage edited by Cathi Hanauer, page 160 (Jehara)

This entry was posted in Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Teaser Tuesday: #2

  1. Marg says:

    Interesting mix of genres here.

    Here’s my teaser for this week.

  2. I like that teaser; that is one book I have never read.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I’m still reading FDR (this book is a beast!), so mine isn’t fun this time around. But YES to The Bitch in the House, I loved that book. I’ve decided that I must own it.

  4. kaye says:

    that last one is hilarious! You are all reading such a nice variety of books. Molly, how are you liking the count?

  5. Bumbles says:

    Margot – that sounds like a really cool book! I’m going to go check it out on Goodreads right now…

  6. OK, Margot. I’ve got to read that one!

  7. jehara says:

    margot, i’m echoing everyone else here, but i want to read that too. 🙂

  8. jehara says:

    faith, i read Tattoo in 2009. i really enjoyed it. how are you liking it? barnes also has another series about young spies whose cover is the cheerleading squad. it is totally out there but they are really fun reads.

  9. Margot says:

    Thanks everyone for your kind words about Table Of Contents. I finished it and it was very interesting to read about how writers use food in the stories. Lots of good recipes too.

  10. Pingback: Review: The Bitch in the House | Quirky Girls Read

Leave a Reply

