Blast From the Past Review: How to Say Goodbye in Robot

Before I had a book blog I sporadically wrote about books I read on my personal blog. I thought it would be fun to revisit books I read and loved during the last three years. I read How To Say Goodbye in Robot June of 2010. I vividly remember reading this book, the images, the typeface, the visceral feelings it evoked. Now I want to read it again. 

how to say goodbye in robot

How To Say Goodbye in Robot
By Natalie Standiford
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Copyright Date: 2009
Number of Pages: 276
Format: YA
Reason for Reading: TBR list
Rating: A+

From the jacket(all caps theirs, not mine):

“ICELANDIC HAIRDRESSERS
ARE THE HAPPIEST PEOPLE
IN THE WORLD.

BEA IS NOT AN
ICELANDIC HAIRDRESSER.

NEITHER IS JONAH.

BUT TOGETHER, THEY
MIGHT FIND SOMETHING
APPROACHING HAPPINESS.”

This book had a lot of hype, which actually drew me in (say something is quirky and I’m there) but it also scared me a little. I needn’t to have feared. This book more than lived up to it. It had me wanting more after I turned the last page. It made me feel happy and sad. It had a delicious, poignant, layered ending that felt true even though I wanted it to end so very differently. (See! There are some endings I like!)

I loved the characters. They were living, breathing beings that I cared so much about. Bea and Jonah don’t fit in at their posh private school. Together they create a world of their own and forge a deep, intense bond.

I love books  that take me on an adventure, that introduce me to new things I wouldn’t otherwise have known about. I don’t listen to much radio, let alone late-night AM radio, but that was one of my favorite elements of the story. I want to listen to late night radio and find my own Night Lights and magic carpet rides.

It’s the friendship between Bea and Jonah that really gets to me. I have experienced deep intense friendships like that. I have experienced bonds with people that ran deep and profound and were lost. Jonah reminds me of a friend I had my sophomore year. It was similar without the brother storyline. When I moved away I missed this person intensely. He stayed in my life for a while, but he was like a butterfly. You can’t really hold onto him no matter how hard you try. He lives on the fringes of the world, keeping his connections and contacts loose at best.

On an ending note, I love all the visual elements of the book-the cover, the color, the typeset, the preface pages before each paragraph to the image on the final page.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blast From the Past Review: How to Say Goodbye in Robot

  1. Bumbles says:

    I remember your original post. I think the title is pretty unforgettable. Neat idea to revisit those reads. Kind of like flipping through a book journal and checking in with old friends :0)

    • jehara says:

      I thought it would be fun to share and to revisit. I really enjoyed that book so much. I think I need to have it in my library. It was so quirky and lovely.

  2. Sounds like a good read!

Leave a Reply

