Weekly Geeks: Save the Words

words

photo credit

The Weekly Geeks  prompt this week has four parts:

1 – I would like to make you all parents and send you over to Save The Word.org to look at all the words that are either not being used enough or are due for a cull probably within the next couple of years. Adopt a word.
2 – What is your pet peeve word? – the word that makes you grind your teeth with either it’s over use or being used out of context.
3 – What is a word you adore, or a word that you feel is not used enough. Irrespective of meaning or even era it’s a word that you just love.
4 – Lastly what is your opinon on word culling or the rise in “text speak” that’s happening now..

 

JEHARA

1. I am adopting DIVINIPOTENT: having the power of divination. I like the way it rolls off my tongue.

2. irregardless, conversate-they aren’t real words!!!

3. covet-I don’t know why, I just love it. I definitely use this word. I also like the word copacetic; however, I don’t use this one much. Oh! And I love love love the word surreptitiously. I use this quite often.

4. I abhor text speak. I barely like it in actual texts. I write out my words in emails and texts. I find it really scary that characters on tv now are saying things such as OMG! and the like. I am all for the evolution of language, but I’m not really into acronyms and shortening things to nothing. Heck, I’m the person that likes to use a person’s whole name. I like nicknames as terms of endearment; however, I really enjoy the way a whole name sounds and will use it regularly (with the person’s blessing, of course).

word stones

photo credit

CHAUCERIANGIRL

1. I adopted the word EGROTE (v., to feign an illness).  This seemed particularly appropriate, because when I was in 5th grade, I frequently egroted because I hated going to school.

2. My pet peeve word is QUOTE. Not the word itself, because it’s a perfectly good word. For example, if you were to quote something from Shakespeare or Chaucer, I would be thrilled.  But when people substitute the word QUOTE for the word QUOTATION it sets my teeth on edge.  Quote is a verb. Quotation is a noun. There is a difference!

3. My favourite word is BORBORYGMUS.  To quote Winnie-the-Pooh, it means a rumbly in your tumbly. I joke that it will appear in every novel I write.

I love words. I’m one of those odd people who read the dictionary for fun. I think it’s really sad that we have a language so rich with wonderfully descriptive words, but we end up dumbing everything down in favour of what I call loltextspeak.

Shakespeare's words

photo credit

IZZYBELLA

1. I have adopted MURKLINS (in the dark) and promise to nurture and love it forever!!    Even murklins she was able to navigate her way through the twisting maze of hedges.

2. Pet Peeve Word-I love words and I don’t really have one that makes my skin crawl.  I do, however, loathe text speak.  I’d give you an example, but don’t think I could formulate anything more obnoxious than what’s already been formulated.  If you’re interested there’s an actual text-speak dictionary on the web.  http://www.netlingo.com/acronyms.php  Depressing, right?

3. Word I Love-I cannot think of just one!!!!  I do love to use “quote” in the incorrect context just to make chauceriangirl cringe.  I keep telling her if I didn’t get a reaction, I wouldn’t do it.  She never learns.

4. I am not a fan of word-culling.  Language and the way we use it to communicate is a living, ever-evolving art.  I know new words will always be added and I think that’s cool.  But we lose out on history when words are culled.  Besides, 60s and 70s fashion came back in a big way, so who’s to say that “dead words” can’t find new life?

The GoodBye Letter

photo credit

MARGOT 

1. Back in 2009 I adopted three words and I still love them:
This past week, in a succisive moment, I ran down to the ten-cent store. There was such a feeling of vacivity in the place I couldn’t stay. I’d promised to purchase something for a friend but was forced to tenorate it.
[Succisive means spare/extra; vacivity means emptiness; tenorate means to break a promise.]

2. Words that are my pet peeves? I don’t like all the words, now in common usage, that speak of bodily fluids or sexual acts. (piss-off, bloody-well, shit, fuck, suck-me, etc.) Call me a prude or old-fashioned, but I find them offensive.

3. Words I adore: Speaking just for me, I love hearing “Hi Nana!”

4. This may surprise you, based on the words I find offensive, but I don’t mind the “text speak”. Most of the time I think they’re cute or like a puzzle I have to stop and figure out. However, since most of the time I don’t know what they are saying, it could be a bunch of offensive words and I don’t know it. Then I probably wouldn’t think it’s so cute. In my opinion, words are always evolving as are the humans who use them. Old ones will fade away and new ones will take their place. It’s the wonderful way we manage to communicate and understand each other.

letters

photo credit 

MOLLY

#1 = I adopt Snollygoster (a shrewd, unprincipled person, especially a politician) – because there is nothing that gets my blood boiling more than those snollygosters feigning good works when really all they want to do is stroke their egos at the expense of our well being – I’m looking at you John Edwards…

#2 = I get more annoyed with overused phrases than particular words – such as “presence of mind” in any sporting event where an athlete makes the correct decision.  The mispronunciation of words bothers me more than the words themselves.  Supposively for example.  How did that many people grow up without ever being told that it is Supposedly?  Makes me cringe.

#3 = I never remember those great words that you hear infrequently but when you do, they make you smile and say “now that’s a word that should be used more often.”  I’ll have to start keeping a list so I can mix them into my vocabulary.  In the meantime I would have to say that my personal favorite word to use is the F-word.  It is so very versatile and it feels good to say it when expressing annoyance or extreme confusion or anger.  I don’t like the crassness of it when used as a sexual verb.  But anything that can carry that many different tones and meanings and have its connotation instantly known is something to be admired.

#4 = I effin’ despise text speak.  It is the dumbing down of society and continues to make attention spans shorter and shorter, greedier and greedier.  Don’t folks realize we’ll just end up with a bunch of snollygosters?

 

This entry was posted in Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Geeks: Save the Words

  1. bermudaonion says:

    I have a feeling Margot is very loyal to the words she’s adopted. This was a fun post!

  2. jehara says:

    CG, I knew quote would make your list before I even read your email. However, I thought decimate might make an appearance as well. 😉

    P.S. I love that I could find Shakespeare’s words for you. Next best thing to Chaucer, don’t you think? 😀

    • You did well. And you’re right–the frequently misused decimate is one of my pet peeves, but it doesn’t grate on me as badly as the misused quote/quotation does. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Awesome post! I loved the new words. I’ll adopt ‘woofits’- The unpleasant aftereffects of overindulgence, especially drinking. Instead of a hangover it is now a woofits!!!

  4. MWK says:

    Ah ha ha! I love that one of the quirky girls loves the F-word and one hates it. I am in the camp of loooooving it. Here are my answers.
    1. I didn’t adopt a word, but when I heard about this website on Oregon Public Radio a few months I developed a love for the word Squiriferous (I think that is how it is spelled), which means “having the qualities of being a gentlemen.” I love it because it sounds like it could either be Shakespearean OR could be a made-up 1980s word from the Fresh Prince of Bel Air or Saved by the Bell
    2. “empower” as an overused word and “impact” as a verb or “impactful” as an adjective. You can have an impact ON something, not impact something. “Empower” I hate as an overused graduate school term with political overtones that I am uncomfortable with. I know it was well meaning but I can’t stand it. Oh, also: SLOT or SLOTS. That word just grosses me out. My sister and husband like to call my attention to whenever that word gets used because I hate it so much.
    3. This is a hard one. I definitely love to swear but there are other words I love, i just can’ t think of one shining example out of the many. I’ll use a basketball reference and say that I love the word “BOOMSHAKALAKA” which is what the radio announcer days when the Trailblazers make an awesome play. In Portland this word gets used for lots of exciting, successful moments and I like that.
    4. I generally hate text speech and try to spell out words (and use commas, apostrophes, etc) in my texts but I have to admit that I totally abbreviate in my speech. I started out doing it ironically (saying “bee-tee-dubs” for BTW, for example) but now I can’t stop. It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

