Teaser Tuesday #3

teaser tuesdayTeaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Grab a book you are reading, open to a random page and pull two sentences. Post the book title, author, and page number. No spoilers, please. 😉

The Quirky Girls are reading a wide variety of books and want to tease you and, hopefully, pique your interest. Here they are:

From ChaucerianGirl:

“Most of us would not imagine any correspondence between conceiving an ethnic genocide and, say, guiltlessly lying to one’s boss about a coworker. But the psychological correspondence is not only there; it is chilling.”  From The Sociopath Next Door by Martha Stout (page 16 Nook edition)

From Molly/The Bumbles:

“There is neither happiness nor misery in the world; there is only the comparison of one state with another, nothing more. He who has felt the deepest grief is best able to experience supreme happiness.” Taken from Kobo e-reader – exact page unknown – Chapter 117 (The Fifth of October) of the book The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

From Jehara:

“According to the St. George Register, on a clear night last June, at some time between eleven and half-past, my mom-who isn’t anything like this-tiptoed down to the basement of the house I grew up in with a Big Boy .44 Magnum in her hands. At the foot of the stairs she knocked on the door to my dad’s den.”  From The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff

From Margot:

“It was a little like the way I was when I was home with an infant and would go out to a party. I was crazed by human contact, chatting relentlessly, comscious that before long I would be back to my cage.” From Every Last One by Anna Quindlen (page 90)

And that’s what we’re reading. What are you reading this week?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Teaser Tuesday #3

  1. Marg says:

    The teaser from The 19th Wife certainly got my attention.

    Here is my teaser for this week.

  2. All interesting teasers. The 19th Wife is one that I definitely want to read.

    Here’s my tease.

  3. Beth F says:

    I loved The Count of Monte Cristo, so many good quotes can be found in that book.

    Although I loved Anna Quindlen column for the NYT (lo those many years ago), I’ve not been taken with her books. I haven’t tried this one tho.

  4. I am intrigued by the teasers! I have to check those!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday: Therapy by Sedastian Fitzek post!

  5. Oh, my, these are all attention-grabbing…especially the one from The 19th Wife….thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  6. Kimberly says:

    “She tried to grab her mother’s hands, but the men shoved her aside, sending her to her knees. Her mother fought like a mad creature, overpowering the policemen for a couple pf seconds, and at that precise moment, the girl saw her real mother emerge, the strong, passionate woman she missed and admired.”

    Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay, p 72

  7. Faith says:

    Jehara, I read The 19th wife back in September. I thought it was really good.

  8. kaye says:

    love your choices this week–and again the variety of reading material between you is wonderful. Molly, I saw on goodreads you had finished The Count–are you going to review?

  9. Carol says:

    Good teasers. I love The Count of Monte Cristo.

  10. Heather says:

    A great selection of teasers–definitely piqued my interest. 😉

  11. These are interesting teasers, must read. Stop and see mine.

  12. Tiina says:

    Margot, thanks for visiting my blog! Some interesting teasers you have here.

  13. Thank you for stopping by my blog. That’s some awesome teasers and I will have to check the books out:-)

  14. Mog says:

    Good choices. The Anna Quindlen book is on my wishlist.

  15. Great teasers – I loved the 19th Wife. I got to interview David, and later our book club discussed the book and watched the movie. Still love it!!

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

  16. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    They are all interesting sounding books. I’ll have to check them out. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  17. I LOVE that last one!
    Great teasers!

    PS Thanks for visiting my TT 🙂

  18. Lizzy says:

    Wow, lots of great teasers! The 19th Wife sounds really interesting, I’ll have to check it out.

  19. Janet Ruth says:

    Great selection of teasers, but not sure which one I like the best!

  20. Bonnie says:

    Thanks for commenting on my TT! I’m with you–what a way to find out you’re engaged!

    Want to know something funny? I tried getting to your teaser when I saw you over at MizB’s, but I couldn’t get the link to work…and then you found me! Guess I was meant to look here 🙂

    The Sociopath Next Door and The 19th Wife gripped me the most–Absolutely CHILLING teasers, ladies! *shivers*

  21. Teddy says:

    You pick some great teasers. I’m intrigued by all of them.

    Here’s mine: http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2011/03/teaser-tuesday_15.html

  22. Darlene says:

    Great teasers! I’m just about to start Every Last One and The 19th Wife has been on my tbr pile for ages.

Leave a Reply

