Recovering From a Reading Lull

My reading this year has been unnaturally slow.  As in I just haven’t been reading that much. I’m not sure exactly what prompts a reading slump but I’ve been in a big for a while. I had the same pile of library books that I’ve renewed several times without picking up a single book. Some of those books I really wanted to read too, but for whatever reason none of my books could inspire me to pick them up. My last reading slump was at the end of last year. The thing that brought me out of it was finally starting a book my sister had lent me over a year ago.  Surprisingly, I was hooked. It was a series and I went to the library to check out whatever they had in that series. I probably read the whole series minus the last two in a matter of two weeks. My current reading slump has been broken by the discovery of a new author (thanks, Izzy!) which has had me buying every book she’s ever written and gobbling them up like there’s no tomorrow.  Sadly, I am done now, but I’m still reading. I am reading other books. I am gobbling them up too.  Books are sustenance to me. If I can’t read, it feels like having no appetite. Life is less enjoyable when I can’t eat or read. It is a profound relief to be excited about books again.

What about you? Do you experience reading slumps? How often? How do you find your way out of them?

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Recovering From a Reading Lull

  1. Kay says:

    I do have reading slumps and that is definitely a bad thing. Reading is my relaxation, my escape, my “Calgon moment”. I’ve just come out of probably the worst slump I’ve had ever. It lasted months. Horrible. However, now I’m reading like no tomorrow. My eyes are tired from it. LOL

    For me, I’ve found that sometimes I can distract myself with TV, especially crime shows, or movies or even magazines. Mostly, I just have to be patient and then that “need to read” will creep up again and I’m off merrily reading again.

  2. izzybella says:

    I’m in a slump now. Partly because I’ve just been so busy at work that when I have free time, I’m more interested in closing my eyes than keeping them open-even for the best story. Then last night I couldn’t sleep and so picked up the third Mercy Thompson book at which point I stayed awake waaay too late trying to finish it (I didn’t-sleep won that one). I think the moral of the story here is reading boring books when you can’t sleep, not exciting ones.

    Anyway as soon as this term ends, I’m going to the library to pick up every single one of Addison’s books. That should get me all the way out of it.

  3. Margot says:

    I think slumps of any kind are normal human nature. I think about all of my interests and, sure enough, I’ve had slumps in all of them. It doesn’t seem to bother me until it’s a slump in one of my lifelong interests like knitting or reading or food. Then I start thinking there must be something wrong with me. Intellectually, I know there isn’t but I still worry. My last slump occurred around my mom’s death (before and after). The only reading I could do was listen to audiobooks for about 30 minutes at a time. Gradually that pulled me out of it. I know I’ll have slumps again but in the meantime, I’m just reading like crazy.

    • jehara says:

      You hit it exactly, Margot. It’s the slumps in the activities that are my sustenance that freak me out. My interest may ebb and flow in other things but that doesn’t bother me one bit. But when I can’t get excited about reading, well, that’s just unnatural. 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    I get those when I have so many I want to read and am reading too many at a time and one book isn’t just pulling me in. I find I read more online like blogs and news or spend more time on my magazines. Eventually I’ll find one book that really pulls me in and then I’m hooked for three or so books. I really go through slumps every couple of months or so. Great topic!

    • jehara says:

      I’m finding my slumps to be more frequent than I recall them ever being. I read blogs and watch too much tv when I can’t get inspired to pick up a book.

  5. I find my reading goes in waves also. I usually try to just ride them out and see what the next day brings 😀

  6. Amy says:

    I’ve experienced reading slumps, sure, I think most of us do since we read so much. It often happens after I’ve been reading a lot of books in a short amount of time. All the books start to seem similar and I feel exhausted reading. Nothing inspires me. I tend to take a couple of days away from books completely and then read a fast-paced mystery or some exciting book that most readers weren’t able to put down once they started reading it.
    If that doesn’t work, I know I have to let the slump run its course!

    Good Luck!

  7. stacybuckeye says:

    I don’t have time to have a reading slump right now. Every miunute I find to read I have to fight for by giving up something else, blogging, sleeping…Oh wait, that’s all I have time to do now that I have a six month old! 🙂

Leave a Reply

