Bookish Thoughts: Book Trailers


More Sarah Addison Allen love, although the Moon trailer is still my favorite.

Until recently, I had never given book trailers much thought. I knew they existed and had seen a couple, but they weren’t really my thing. However, after reading The Girl Who Chased the Moon on my Kindle, I wanted to see what the cover looked like. I found it online along with a book trailer. Because I so loved the book, I found myself intrigued enought to watch it. And watch it again. And a third time for good measure. The trailer captured the essence of the story perfectly. Quite frankly, it made me want to read the book all over again. Perhaps the book trailers I had come across eons ago were not as well made, perhaps it was the timing, or perhaps it just took falling in love with a book, but that one trailer took me from resistant and indifferent to somewhat obsessive and fanatical.

Re-discovering book trailers inspired me to create a mini-challenge around it for Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon. This past weekend I went through every comment and watched all the trailers submitted. They were all awesome in their own way. I may not have wanted to read every book I watched a trailer for, but I could appreciate the creativity and work that went into each one, how each one set forth a specific mood and quality that I imagine matches the book perfectly.  I’ve sort of become obsessed with searching book trailers for books I’ve recently read and loved. 

I’m a little late to the party, as usual, but I can honestly say I’m glad I’ve (re) stumbled upon book trailers. They are little nuggets of book candy. They can whet the appetite for future reading or give another small pleasure for a book you’ve already enjoyed.

What are your thoughts on book trailers? Do you love them, dislike them, don’t care? Do they help you come across new titles or do you just keep up with your favorite author’s trailers?

Trailer that intrigued me the most from read-a-thon entries

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bookish Thoughts: Book Trailers

  1. Kay says:

    I actually really like book trailers. Some are much better done than others, but I always like a glimpse of what is coming. I will admit that I love movie trailers as well so that may have something to do with it. I will say that the two you included here are great. The woman who narrates THE PEACH KEEPER trailer has a wonderful voice.

  2. Margot says:

    I like trailers too – books and movies. It’s similar to what we do on Teaser Tuesday. It’s just a little snip of what wonderful things are coming if we get the book. The one for The Peach Keeper was excellent. After seeing that, I clicked on an interview with the author and then clicked on a book review and then clicked . . . Those things can be Alice’s hole.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Okay, I’m embarrassed to say that I’m not sure that I was even aware of book trailers (and I work in publishing). Ugh. Terrible.

    Anyhoo, I love movie trailers. I’m the person who HAS to get to the movie on time so I don’t miss the previews. Book trailers, well . . . they work for the same reason. I think the key for me is that they don’t give away too much imagery, just because I like to formulate my own images as I’m reading.

Leave a Reply

