Teaser Tuesday #7

Teaser Tuesday is sponsored by MizB at Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Grab a book you are reading, open to a random page and pull two sentences. Post the book title, author, and page number. No spoilers, please.

The great thing about our group of Quirky Girls is that we love to read a wide variety of books. Here’s a little taste of what we are reading right now:

ChaucerianGirl is reading Lovely by Allison Liddelle

“Perhaps I’m still alive because I have some hope, some small pathetically misguided bit of optimism that the world can get better. That it will get better.”

Margot is reading The Day the Cowboys Quit by Elmer Kelton

“Next to his way with a horse, a cowboy was proudest of his independence. He worked for other men, but they owned nothing of him except his time.”

Izzybella is reading Industrial Magic by Kelley Armstrong

“I thought you were all-seeing.”

All-knowing, not all-seeing!” he snapped. “I’m a God, not Santa Claus!”

Molly is reading The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton.

“My wife was dead right to stay away: she says life’s too short to spend it in breaking in new people.” -Gus Trenor grumbling about a high society event.

I hope you like our variety of teasers. What are you reading these days?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Teaser Tuesday #7

  1. jehara says:

    Lovely sounds intriguing. I really like the cover too.

    Molly, how are you enjoying House of Mirth? I read that in my Politics of Beauty English class. I remember enjoying it but also feeling conflicted.

  2. Kyanara says:

    Interesting teasers, I really liked the one for industrial Magic!

    Have a great day
    Kyanara

  3. These all sound captivating…Lovely is my favorite cover.

    Here’s MY TT POST

  4. Lovely ‘s teaser sounds like something I think daily and Industrial Magics is too funny! Great Teasers!

  5. Lovely sounds great! Thanks for all the great teasers!

    In honor of Sarah Dessen week my Teaser Tuesday is from Just Listen. Happy Reading! Jen

  6. Dee says:

    Pretty wide variety here! I enjoyed Industrial Magic, though there are other books by Kelley Armstrong I’ve liked better – like same series, wolf books 🙂
    Edith Wharton seems like an author I must read, fascinating thought there!

    My teaser is at http://readseverything.blogspot.com/
    It’s set in an alternate London (an Underground London)

    • Bumbles says:

      Ms. Wharton was quite witty – she enjoyed poking fun at high society. It is an interesting way of looking at things – settling for the familiar rather than spending time with the unknown – that whole risk reward issue.

  7. Tea Norman says:

    Luv House of Mirth. Have read it about three times. Always different. Great Teasers all.

  8. Great teasers 🙂 I’ve got The House of Mirth on my TBR list and plan to get to it soon!

  9. pk reeves says:

    Margot I love COWBOYS!

    Going to look this one up.

  10. kaye says:

    I think Mr. J could be a character in House of Mirth–he feels like that when it comes to social events. Fun teasers this week.

  11. Very diverse group of teasers, but good choices all around. Thanks for sharing! If you get a chance, mine is here.

  12. Shirley says:

    I had to smile at the teaser, “breaking in new people”. Good teasers everyone!
    My Bookshelf

  13. BookBelle says:

    Those all look like great books. I’m playing around with reading up Edith Wharton. I really liked the one I’ve read so far.

  14. Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Those are quite some different teasers, I like that 🙂

    Nickey @ The Book Shop Assistant

Leave a Reply

