Kindling

kindling

photo credit

I recently discovered a few things about the Kindle.

One-if you are trying to help your mother in law redeem a gift card to her amazon account so she can buy books for her Kindle, the account it is registered to was created by her son’s wife rather than using her already existing account, and no one can remember the email they created or the password, it does not do any good to create a new account (because she can’t remember what her existing account is) and re-register the Kindle to that. I did that and promptly lost all of her books.

Lesson here, books are tied to Kindle amazon accounts, not the Kindles themselves. But you probably knew that. Call me a Kindle newbie.

Two-While spending three hours on Mother’s Day helping my mother in law redeem her cards, messing up her account in the process, then trying to fix what I broke, I stumbled across a little gem on one of the forums. Some Kindle books can be lent out. 

I did get her Kindle squared away with her books intact and gift cards redeemed to the correct account.  After I accomplished that, I checked to see if she had any books that I could borrow. She had exactly one-Water for Elephants. I promptly lent it to myself. I also checked my own account to see if any of my books could be lent to her. Sadly, none could not.

Now you may already be aware of this lending policy.  However, if you are like me and new to Kindling, here is how you do it:

Go to Manage My Kindle on your amazon account and click the plus sign next to your titles it will show your book details. If it can be lent, there will be a link that says ‘Loan this book.’ If it doesn’t have the link, you can’t lend it. When you click the link, it asks for the email address of the person you want to lend it to. That person gets an email. They have seven days to accept it. Once it has been accepted, the lendee has fourteen days to read said book. While they have it, the original owner cannot read it. After the fourteen days is up, the book disappears from the lendee’s Kindle.

Dear fellow Kindlers, do you have any other tips to share with us newbies? (I do remember someone mentioning in the coments getting a free copy of Wings on their Kindle, or did I just imagine that?)

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kindling

  1. Margot says:

    Somehow your tale of loss of technology was comforting to me. It’s so frustrating when those things happen. I do love my Kindle and have an embarrassing number of books on it that I haven’t yet read. My only tip is to give you links to two blogs. They have lead to my bulging Kindle list but they have lead me to some interesting finds. I got these links from Kaye, so thanks Kaye.

    Kindle’s Blog: This blog features new Kindle books and often has interesting guest posts by authors.
    http://www.kindlepost.com/
    Free Kindle (and other ebooks): Every day this woman features numerous books that are free on many ereaders but most of them are Kindle. There will be a lot and so you have to wade through to find what you want.
    http://blog.booksontheknob.org/

  2. Heather says:

    I love my Nook Color! So I’m not sure on any Kindle advice but I’m so sorry about the crazy situation you had! Thanks for sharing and glad you got it all squared away.

  3. I don’t have any ebook reader except Adobe on my computer. Just not a hand held.. but these are good things to know for any one who want to get an e book reader .. Thanks.

  4. Staci says:

    I love my Kindle that my son so graciously gave me to me!! Like Margot I have a ton of books on there but it’s fun and addicting!! Thanks for the great tips!

    • jehara says:

      Isn’t it though? At first I was only reading the Times on it, but once I started buying books on it, I got a little addicted to getting a book in under sixty seconds. Talk about instant gratification. I don’t even have to leave my house now. That’s a little scary for my pocketbook haha. 🙂

  5. kaye says:

    I love my kindle too–and I think I might make myself a badge that says “kindle queen” on it. Margot gave me the name in one of her comments and it made me giggle ;P

    You might be surprised to learn that you can also borrow books from the library.

    My mom has a kindle and didn’t want to have anything to do with the technology end of it, she just wants to read books on it (it’s easier to read with her eye problems). So her kindle is registered to my account–that way she gets to read all my books and I get to read all of hers. I buy, load and manage all her books. She pays me for what she orders and then she reads. It works well for us.

  6. Pingback: A taste of what is to come |

Leave a Reply

