A taste of what is to come

I am in between books at the moment, but I am really excited about my upcoming reads. 

pride and prejudice

One of my best friends and I have a book club with each other. We take turns picking a book, we read it, then we set up a skype chat to discuss. This time it was my turn to pick. We’ve read some heavy books, and the last one neither one of us could finish.  I thought we could use something a little more lighthearted. I was inspired by Molly’s challenge to read at least one classic a year and Izzy’s love letter to her favorite book of all time. I must admit I’ve never read Jane Austen. P&P seemed like a good start and having someone read it with me is good motivation to stick with it. (I will also admit that I’ve tried to read her before but didn’t quite succeed at it.) She’s already 200 pages in so I gots to get a move on this one.

the red leather diary

This is May’s read for book club. It is based on a real diary the author found in a dumpster. She read the diary then searched and found the woman to whom it belonged. She brings to life the diary writer’s life living in 1930’s Manhattan. I am a sucker for real life stories and diaries. Hopefully I will get to it this weekend in time for Monday’s meeting.

water for elephants

I don’t know too much about this one besides what I’ve seen in the movie trailers. My mother in law read it and loved it. Since I borrowed it from her and only get to keep it for two weeks, I will be getting to this very soon. Then I’ll see the movie afterward. You can probably expect a book/movie comparison review for this one.

for better: the science of a good marriage

This book was chosen for the APW bookclub. The author looks at marriage from a scientific viewpoint. She examines such topics as love, monogamy, sex, children, money, and housework to give practical advice backed by science. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. It will have to wait, though, until the end of the month. ) Books need to be prioritized when there is so much organized (but fun!) reading happening.

What books are you excited to get your hands on?

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A taste of what is to come

  1. Kimberly says:

    I’m still plowing through The Count of Monte Cristo. I’m almost halfway done with it, which I must admit gives me a bit of a boost!

    I’ve got for Better on my reading list as well, hopefully in time for the APW book club meetup. Although . . . to be honest . . . I’m just planning on skimming through that one (unless, of course, I get sucked in!).

    Then it’s back to my Goodreads list, where I’m skipping a couple and starting At Home by Bill Bryson. Okay, okay, fine, I’ve already started. Whoops.

    • Bumbles says:

      Wow – keep at it – The Count and I had a love/hate relationship the beginning of this year. But several months removed from it, I am still fond of the basis for the story. I don’t envy you the journey again though.

      I have At Home at home! I think I just might dive into that next. I need some good old entertaining mindless minutia from one of my favorite authors.

      • Kimberly says:

        It’s a bit tough because some of the characters I’m finding it difficult to remember. And – I also took a break to read The Kitchen House, so my reading was going in fits and spurts for a while there.

        I haven’t gotten far into At Home, but so far it’s not as amusing as some of his other stuff. Still, I LOVE Bill Bryson.

    • jehara says:

      I’m really looking forward to For Better. I think it will definitely suck me in. So far, I’ve enjoyed all of the APW bookclub reads.

  2. izzybella says:

    Well, you already know how I feel about P&P. I hope you enjoy it. Of the others, I’ve only read Water for Elephants. I liked that a lot-the big top depiction was just really intriguing.

    I think that The Red Leather Diary looks really good. You’ll have to tell me what you think of it.

    • Bumbles says:

      I enjoyed Water for Elephants too. It was nothing as I had expected. I’m sure that visually the movie will be like eye candy. Not so sure they can capture the characters enough though.

      • jehara says:

        I just finished it last night. It was sooo good!!!!! I don’t know if the movie can do it justice but it will be worth it just to see the circus scenes.

    • jehara says:

      I hope Red Leather Diary doesn’t disappoint. I’ll definitely review it though. I’m looking forward to checking out Water for Elephants too.

  3. Margot says:

    You have a great stack of books there. P & P is one of my all-time favorites so I hope it’s good for you too. I saw the movie for Water For Elephants, liked the story and bought the book. I’ll read it one of these days but I won’t be visioning Reese Witherspoon in the female role. I was disappointed. This weekend I’ll be reading a new book that’s a historical biography, The Pager Garden.

    Happy Reading everyone.

    • jehara says:

      I’m sorry to hear that Reese was disappointing. She is one of my favorite actresses. In any case, I definitely want to read the book before I see the movie. I really hope I like P&P. I have to admit that I will feel like a lame-o if I don’t like it or worse, I don’t get it.

      • izzybella says:

        Nah, not a lame-o. Different people respond to different things. 🙂 Besides, it could be argued that I built it up so much, it’s officially impossible to live up to it’s own reputation…

  4. I like the look of the Red Leather Diary – what a fascinating story! I hope you enjoy Water for Elephants. I expected there to be slightly more to the story after seeing all the hype around it, but it is a lovely read – and the movie sticks very closely to the book too!
    I will also admit I have never read P&P – maybe I need to take your idea of reading it with a friend for incentive!!

    • jehara says:

      I highly recommend reading books that are out of your comfort zone with a friend. I read my first Salman Rushdie because of it. That was way out of my comfort zone, but I’m glad I went there.

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I remember I was a little intimidaed before I read my first Austen books a few years ago and started with an audio, thinking that would help me ease into it. I listened to Sense & Sensibility and went on to read P&P and Persuasion. I’ve just started Emma. So, you can always listen to a little of the audio to inspire you.

  6. P and P = My fav book of all time.

    Noticed Count of Monte Cristo was commented on as well. Another fav. The classics are amazing! I recommend everyone just sifting through some and giving one a try!

Leave a Reply

