Armchair BEA: A Giveaway Celebration

Welcome to Quirky Girls Read Giveaway Celebration. We’ve gathered together some of our most recent gently read (and deeply loved) books to share with you.

Read the description of each book and decide which one(s) you’d like to have a chance to win. Then follow the directions following the book descriptions.

Exit the Actress by Priya Parmar (Paperback/Pub date February 2011)

While selling oranges in the Theatre Royal, Covent Garden, sweet and sprightly Ellen “Nell” Gwyn impresses the theater’s proprietors with a wit and sparkle that belie her youth and poverty. She quickly earns a place in the company, narrowly avoiding the life of prostitution to which her sister has already succumbed. As her roles evolve from supporting to starring, the scope of her life broadens as well. Soon Ellen is dressed in the finest fashions, charming the theatrical, literary, and royal luminaries of Restoration England. Ellen grows up on the stage, experiencing first love and heartbreak and eventually becoming the mistress of Charles II. Despite his reputation as a libertine, Ellen wholly captures his heart—and he hers—but even the most powerful love isn’t enough to stave off the gossip and bitter court politics that accompany a royal romance. Telling the story through a collection of vibrant seventeenth-century voices ranging from Ellen’s diary to playbills, letters, gossip columns, and home remedies, Priya Parmar brings to life the story of an endearing and delightful heroine.

 =   =   =  =   =

Wrecker by Summer Woods (Hardback/Pub date April, 2011)

Wrecker is the three-year-old abandoned child for whom life turns around in most unexpected ways. It’s June of 1965 when Wrecker enters the world. The war is raging in Vietnam, San Francisco is tripping toward flower power, and Lisa Fay, Wrecker’s birth mother, is knocked nearly sideways by life as a single parent in a city she can barely manage to navigate on her own. Three years later, she’s in prison, and Wrecker is left to bounce around in the system before he’s shipped off to live with distant relatives in the wilds of Humboldt County, California. When he arrives he’s scared and angry, exploding at the least thing, and quick to flee. Wrecker is the story of this boy and the motley group of isolated eccentrics who come together to raise him and become a family along the way.

 =   =   =   =   =

The Provence Cure For the Brokenhearted by Bridget Asher (ARC copy/Pub date March 2011)

Brokenhearted and still mourning the loss of her husband, Heidi travels with Abbott, her obsessive-compulsive seven-year-old son, and Charlotte, her jaded sixteen-year-old niece, to the small village of Puyloubier in the south of France, where a crumbling stone house may be responsible for mending hearts since before World War II.

There, Charlotte confesses a shocking secret, and Heidi learns the truth about her mother’s “lost summer” when Heidi was a child. As three generations collide with one another, with the neighbor who seems to know all of their family skeletons, and with an enigmatic Frenchman, Heidi, Charlotte, and Abbot journey through love, loss, and healing amid the vineyards, warm winds and delicious food of Provence. Can the magic of the house heal Heidi’s heart, too?

 =   =   =   =   =

Giveaway Directions:  In the comments section below tell us which book you would like to win. If you find yourself wanting to win more than one, write down each of the titles. If you would be happy with any one of them, let us know that too. We will put your name in the hat for each one.

Just to clarify the Giveaway: We are giving away 3 different books to 3 different people. Just tell us which book(s) you want a chance to win. We will use random.org to pick the lucky winners. We’ll keep the Giveaway open until the end of the week. (I’m sorry. This is U.S. only)

All of these books are fairly new. If Classics are more your speed, check back here later this week. Molly is launching a Classics Summer Reading Challenge that includes a very nice Giveaway.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Armchair BEA: A Giveaway Celebration

  1. Poof Books says:

    Would like to win Bridget Asher’s latest, “The Provence Cure For the Brokenhearted”. Never opposed to a trip to Provence for any reason. Have read previous books by Asher and would like to read this one. Thanks.

  2. SpadesHigh says:

    I would like to be entered for all 3 book giveaways please!! =) it doesnt matter which one I would/could be able to win. I’d be lucky and happy just to get picked. ^_^
    Thanks so much for hosting this variety choice of book giveaway! and for participating in ArmchairBEA!! Nice to meet you!

    SpadesHigh @ http://SpadesHighReads.blogspot.com
    TValeros18 @ gmail [dot] com

  3. Jessica says:

    I’d love to read Wrecker. Thanks for the amazing giveaway.

  4. Diana says:

    Woud like to win Wrecker by Summer Woods. thanks for hosting this giveaway!

    Diana

  5. Tea Norman says:

    I would like to read “Exit The Actress.”

    teakettle58(at)yahoo(dot)com

  6. Andrea says:

    I would like to win “Exit The Actress”

    andreag @ earthlink . net

  7. Beachreader says:

    They all look wonderful, but I would like to be entered in Exit the Actress.
    Thanks you for the giveaway.
    jgoffice(at)cox(dot)net

  8. I would love to read Wrecker. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Sarah Reads Too Much
    sarahesullivan at gmail dot com

  9. Debnance says:

    I just finished Brokenhearted and I agree with you…It’s fantastic!

  10. booksNyarn says:

    Hi! Thanks for the visit to my blog yesterday. I would love a chance at “Exit the Actress”.

  11. Susanna P says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’d like to win Exit the Actress – I love historical fiction.

    I’ll be back for that classics giveaway. 🙂

  12. Michelle M. says:

    I would love to win Exit the Actress. Thank you.

  13. Napoleonic Scrivenings says:

    I would love to win The Provence Cure For the Brokenhearted please! Great giveaway!

  14. Trisha says:

    I would love to win Wrecker! It sounds like a read full of unique characters which is something I appreciate.

  15. stilettostorytime says:

    I would love to win “Exit the Actress” or “The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted”. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Courtney
    stilettostorytime at gmail dot com

  16. Kimberly says:

    Ooooh, The Provence Cure For the Brokenhearted sounds like something I could get into . . . I’d love for a chance to win that one.

  17. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    I would love to read Exit the Actress. Thanks for having this give-a-way. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just books
    splummer54(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. Amy Hanney says:

    Would love either Wrecker or The Provence cure for the Brokenhearted.

  19. FloeticFlo says:

    I’d love Exit the Actress.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  20. Alyce says:

    I’d like to be entered for any of them!
    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

  21. T says:

    Hi! I would like to win The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted. It sounds interesting.

  22. Amy says:

    I would love to win Wrecker by Summer Woods!

    Thank you for an awesome giveaway!

    Aimala127(at)gmai(dot)com

  23. Esme says:

    For me it would be The Provence Cure-thank you.

  24. I would like to win Wrecker.

  25. Lori L says:

    I’d love to win a copy of Wrecker! It’s been on my wish list since the reviews started rolling in.
    shetreadssoftly(at)gamil(dot)com

  26. Pamela says:

    I would like to win Exit the Actress. Thank you so much for hosting this giveaway!

  27. Hannah says:

    Exit the Actress looks lovely. Thank you for the giveaway!
    hannahfyoung(at)gmail(dot)com

  28. The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted sounds like a great read. I’m outside the US so good luck to all the entries for the competition. I’m going to keep an eye out for this one though!

  29. Miss Lauren says:

    Thanks so much for hosting this giveaway! I’d love to read Wrecker by Summer Woods!

  30. Tanya says:

    I haven’t read any of these titles yet, so i would be thrilled to win any of them Thanks

  31. Lisa McGeen says:

    I would love to win The Provence Cure For the Brokenhearted by Bridget Asher
    lisasworldofbooks @ charter.net

  32. I’d love to win Wrecker. Thanks for the chance!

    xxsquigglesxx(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. Cici says:

    Thanks for a wonderful giveaway! Your choices look great! I would like a chance to win whichever one you choose for me 🙂
    Thanks,
    Cici
    cicistheories@gmail.com

  34. Birdie says:

    Exit the Actress sounds fascinating. I study Renaissance British culture, and Charles II is just on the far end of my spectrum, as is the “pretty, witty Nell Gwynn”

  35. Amy says:

    I’d like to win Wrecker!

    Thank you for the lovely giveaway!
    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  36. Krysta Banco says:

    I’d like to win Exit the Actress. Thanks

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

Leave a Reply

