Armchair BEA: Welcome!

armchair bea

The Book Expo of America is taking place this week, May 23-27 in New York City. The Armchair BEA is an online convention for those of us who could not attend. 

Hello, BEA-ers! Welcome to QGR! We are excited to have you!

Who we are:  A motley crew of book lovers who’ve come together to blog about books in one place.  

Molly shares her love of classics with reviews and thoughtful posts on why we all should give classics a chance.

Don’t Get Lost in Literary Translation

Review: Three Men In a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog)

Margot shares her journey reading award winner books and heads up the QGR Teaser Tuesday meme posts.

Review: The Lion and the Mouse

The 2011 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Izzy shares her love of the paranormal, YA, and fiction in general, along with witty book vs movie comparison reviews.

Book v. Movie: I am Number Four

Review: The Book of Lost Things

Chauceriangirl shares an eclectic mix of books ranging from nonfiction to YA to sassy cookbooks.

Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes

Review: A Lucky Child

Jehara shares her love of Sarah Addison Allen, YA, various book clubs reads and bookish quotations.

Review: The 19th Wife

Chasing the Moon

How we are doing Armchair BEA: We will be divvying up the BEA posts among the five of us. We are spread out from the West Coast to the Southwest to the East Coast. We are excited to be participating in our first Armchair BEA as Quirky Girls. We don’t have any expectations other than to have loads of fun and make new blog friends!

Happy armchair-ing!!

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Armchair BEA: Welcome!

  1. It’s nice to meet the Quirky Girls, and thanks for sharing. I like group blogs and belong to one called Dames of Dialogue. To find out about some of my blogs and my obsessions, check MY ARMCHAIR BEA KICK-OFF POST

    • thebumbles says:

      Hi there Laurel! I’ve missed you! Will reconnect soon. That’s why events like this one are so terrific – an opportunity to meet new-to-you bloggers and reconnect with some familiar faces.

  2. Lena says:

    Nice to meet you and your blog. I love being part of a Motley Crew of booklovers. Sounds cool. Glad to have a new blog to follow. Hope to stay connected.

    • thebumbles says:

      Thanks for following, Lena! We will certainly reach out and get to know your spot in the blogosphere as well.

  3. Just Deb says:

    Love that I’ve found your blog, what a wonderful mix of interests and post you all have to share. Enjoy the week!

    • thebumbles says:

      Thanks Deb! We are very excited about our first Armchair BEA experience – will stop by your place to get to know you as well.

  4. Scoot says:

    That is great that you guys are from all over and blog together. So fun! How did you meet? Just online in the blogging world or are you friends in ‘real’ life?

    • jehara says:

      Margot and Molly knew each other through blogging. I knew Molly through blogging. Izzy and CG and I have been friends for years in real life. I wanted to move my book blogging away from my personal blog, but the idea of keeping up with two blogs was a little overwhelming. I decided to start a group blog, so I asked a few friends who in turn recommended a friend and here we are. 🙂

  5. Smash Attack says:

    I adore the blog name! I am so envious about a team of bloggers because not only is it more fun to work with a team of book lovers, but it makes blogging way easier!
    Enjoy!

    • thebumbles says:

      The name is all Jehara’s creation. And we all loved it too – we’re lucky to have her great ideas! And you are exactly right – group blogging is a ton of fun and makes the process less work for everyone.

  6. Your blog looks like a lot of fun! I am a new subscriber 🙂

    I’m just dropping in to wish you a happy Armchair BEA!

    • thebumbles says:

      Thanks Julie – for stopping by and subscribing in order to visit us again in the future. I’m sure you’ll find something to enjoy here on a regular basis. We’ll certainly be visiting you as well.

  7. Yay for new blog friends!! Jehara, you commented on my blog. I love Phoenix! And I moved from Chicago. Where are you from? I hope you love it too :o) Happy BEA, and keep in touch :o)

  8. This is the first group blog I stumbled across tonight. Awesome!

    If any of the Quirky Girls feel like they’re missing out on all the free books they’d get at BEA, I’d be happy to send mine. Just drop me a line if you’re interested.

    Cheers,
    Jason
    http://jasonjackmiller.blogspot.com

    • izzybella says:

      Thanks, Jason! We’re glad you made it here. We’ll definitely be visiting your site to get the BEA experience from your point-of-view!

      Izzy (QGR)

  9. lisa says:

    i love the idea of group blogging and admire your ability to work together to pull it off!

    i hope you all have a wonderful Armchair BEA week and look forward to your posts.

    • izzybella says:

      Thank you, Lisa! Of the quirky girls, I’m probably the least experience blogger, so learning from my fellow qg’s has been a fantastic experience. I’m pretty excited for this ABEA. Learning so much!

  10. Trisha says:

    Great to meet you guys! I love the idea of joint blogging!

    ~Trisha @ eclectic / eccentric

  11. Glad to have found your blog. Enjoy Armchair BEA week!

Leave a Reply

