It’s Teaser Tuesday Time

Teaser Tuesday is sponsored by MizB at Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Grab a book you are reading, open to a random page and pull two sentences. Post the book title, author, and page number. No spoilers, please.

The great thing about our group of Quirky Girls is that we love to read a wide variety of books. Here’s a little taste of what we are reading right now:

ChaucerianGirlย is reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Childrenย by Ransom Riggs:

“You don’t know what you’re talking about,” she said with a scowl. “And thanks for comparing me to a dog. That was brilliant.”

I wondered how we’d gone from flirting to fighting so quickly.

Molly is reading At Home by Bill Bryson:

“This novel was almost to the point of eroticism. Gardening for Ladies bravely insisted that women could manage gardening independent of male supervision if they simply observed a few sensible precautions – working steadily but not too vigorously, using only light tools, never standing on damp ground because of the unhealthful emanations that would rise up through their skirts.”

Margot is reading The Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly:

“That huge farm . . . all the work, Ellen,” my aunt said. “Seven babies. . . three buried because they weren’t strong enough, because you weren’t strong enough . . . and now another one coming. What on earth can you be thinking?”

“What would you like me to do, Josie?”

Thanks for visiting the Quirky Girls’ teasers. What have you been reading?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s Teaser Tuesday Time

  1. Love the teasers… especially the one for Miss Peregrine’s Home. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Here’s my Teaser from The American Heiress! ~ Wendi

  2. T.F.Walsh says:

    All three teasers were awesome.. the first one was my fav.. had me giggling.

    Here’s mine: http://tfwalsh.wordpress.com/2011/06/21/teaser-tuesday-say-cheese-medusa/

  3. Jules says:

    Great teasers! I really want to read ‘At home’ I’ve loved so many of his other books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bumbles says:

      It is a good book to pick up and put down – nothing to have to sit and devote all your reading attention to. He is very clever, that Bryson!

  4. Hi,

    What a fantastic teasers!

    Have a wonderfull day!
    Kyanara from The Life of a BookAholic

  5. That first one really interests me. Wonder what makes these children peculiar. Adding this to my TBR. Hope I get to see your review of this.

  6. Beth F says:

    The last teaser really hit me. We were wandering around a 19th-century cemetery the other day and noticed all the graves for children and infants.Sad, but a fact of life once.

  7. ds says:

    Wonderful teasers! Love Bill Bryson. As for the last “unhealthful emanations rising up from their skirts.” So Victorian–and funny in its own sad way…

    • Bumbles says:

      Yes – the language he selects so suits the time periods he pokes fun of! I can relate to working steadily but not too vigorously myself ;0)

  8. Love the first one. I’m dying to read that book.

  9. Jessica says:

    Great teasers. Thanks for visiting mine and it’s a he that was being looked at. It’s a good book check it out if you like.

  10. Lisa says:

    I am waiting for my copy of Miss Peregrine – I can’t wait!

    My teaser is here.

    And check out my giveaway – Win a copy of Pale Demon

  11. Faith says:

    The first and last look interesting to me. Love the cover of the last one!

  12. Great teasers!! I have new books to look into now ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Mickey @ imabookshark

  13. Great collection of teasers. I loved At Home, so I hope you are enjoying it, too! If you get a chance, my teaser is here.

  14. Sharon C says:

    Wonderful teasers!

    My TT, http://obsessionwithbooks.blogspot.com

    Have a nice week ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. You always have such a wonderful collection of books on the go! Great teasers!!

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/teaser-tuesdays_21.html

  16. kaye says:

    Margot–I totally love the cover and teaser from your book

    Molly–I see you are learning to garden

    C-girl–that house does sound a bit peculiar

Leave a Reply

