Review: French Milk

french milkName of Book: French Milk

By: Lucy Knisley

Publisher: Epigraph Publishing

Copyright Date: 2000

Number of Pages: 188

Format: graphic novel, nonfiction, travelogue

Reason for Reading: I ❤ France

Rating: A

Before I had a book blog, I sporadically wrote about books on my personal blog.  From time to time, I like to share here some of my favorite books I’ve read during the last three years. I originally read this book last June. It was a charming and endearing read. Not only did I love the photographs and the drawings, I related to Lucy’s personal crisis. I earned an art degree, and I have to admit that there were moments where I feared I’d become a bag lady too.

Lucy Knisley spent five weeks in Paris with her mother at the beginning of 2007. They rented an apartment in the fifth arrondissement and experienced the joys of Paris living. They checked out the shops, frequented their local market for fresh foodstuffs, enjoyed the local restaurants while also braving the lines at the tourist attractions. They took in many a museum, checked out comic shops, and the famous Shakespeare and Co. bookshop.

Amidst their Paris adventure, Lucy is plagued by doubts of the future.She is an art student on the verge of graduating. She worries whether she will become a bag lady or not. Is her art good enough? Will she be able to get a job?

The book is a collection of Lucy’s drawings and writings interspersed with photos she took during her trip. It is a completely charming and lovely book. Her illustrations are comical, her writing direct and honest. She has a flair for wrapping everything in humor. I love the way she draws expressions. They really jump out and convey so much more than words can.

This book was a pure delight and brought back memories of my own adventures in Paris, and France in general. Lucy and I saw many of the same things, yet there were plenty of adventures we did not share. I loved seeing Paris through her eyes, especially amidst her personal crisis. Her pictures had an old-timey vintage feel to them that I adore.

I’m sure I will revisit this book many times. It is a book I will savor. I think you will appreciate this gem of a book if you like travelogues and/or quirky books, have been to France or would like to go to France.

This entry was posted in Nonfiction, Posts by Jehara and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: French Milk

  1. Beth F says:

    I really loved the food descriptions too. I wish I had spent 5 weeks with my mom in Europe when we both were much younger.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I liked this one a lot too, although I never saw fresh milk like that when I lived in France.

  3. Annie says:

    I like your review ! When I saw the photo I thought : Paris ! I was born there , lived in in the fifth arrondissement during 6 years and 24 years at all in the city and just near ! This book seems so pleasant ! Thanks !

  4. Margot says:

    This is the first graphic novel I read when I decided that graphic novels weren’t just for young people. I loved it and went on to read lots of other graphics. My only complaint about the book was that the hand written narrative was written in very tiny letters. I had to use a magnifying glass. Later books have improved in this area.

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    This has been on my wish list for awhile. I’d love to take my mom to Paris.

  6. justayagirl says:

    Wow! What a great site girls! I was poking around, looking at your reviews, and I have to say your blog is like a breath of fresh air. It is so…different (good different, not bad) I have never even heard of this book and now I wish I had. Such an unusual graphic novel and it looks very beautiful.

    Okay, enough gushing. Glad I found you! Will be subscribing 🙂

    ♥ Trish Just a YA Girl

  7. Louise says:

    Oh wow. This book is totally for me. I’m in love with Paris. Am a complete sucker for any of those “I went to France and this is what happened” books. And I love the quirky too. My library doesn’t have this. But I’ll seek it out.

Leave a Reply

