Snoop Our Shelves: Jehara edition #3

snooping our shelvesIt has been eight years since I had a proper bookshelf. While in college one of my best friends gave me this beautiful shelf she had. I coveted that shelf every time I went over to her place. I can’t really remember why she was getting rid of it. I just remember getting to take possession of it. My last year of college I moved back home and gave all of my stuff away, including that lovely shelf. Since then, I’ve been using closet space to store my books. At my dad’s house, my closet had four box-like shelves that I stacked books in a la Izzybella. When I moved into a place of my own I had one long gigantic shelf in my closet that I stacked books. It was quite beautiful. But now, I am the happy owner of a proper bookshelf. It is the centerpiece of our living room and I could gaze at it all day long.

bookshelf
the shelf almost in all its glory

A few shelves on the left store B’s extensive movie collection. The rest of the shelves contain my books. The rest of my books are in an armoire. We also have some treasured items sharing the shelves with the books.

faery shelf
faery shelf (and yes, the shelf is dusty, i didn’t clean for these pictures)

I have a little thing for faeries. I even have a tattoo of one on my calf. Now I am not a collector (of figurines), but over the years I’ve acquired faeries from lovely people who know I love faeries. I love them and think I have just the right number. I grouped them with my faerie books (which I do collect) and just like that I created a mini sacred space on my shelf.

poetry and plays shelfpoetry and plays

I like to stack my books horizontally. I do this because a. I can read the titles without craning my neck and b. I am able to utilize more shelf space this way. I group my books by author (when I have a large number of one’s oeuvre) and my by genre. This is the shelf devoted to plays, poetry and Sylvia Plath.Β  Most of the poetry is hiding in the back, but one of my favorite collections, Life Sentences by Nina Cassian is peeking out on the side.Β  I am a huge fan of Sylvia Plath. I have every single book of poetry published saver for The Collected Poems, which I lent to one of my best friends, but she loved it so much she kept “forgetting” to give it back. Before I moved I officially gave it to her. I also have every biography written on her, her unabridged journals, her husband’s book of poetry about her. I think the only thing I am missing is a book of letter correspondence between her and her mother.

hoffman/block shelfAlice Hoffman/Francesca Lia Block shelf

Alice Hoffman is hands down my favorite author. I don’t have all of her books, but I have quite a few, hence I’ve grouped them together, with a couple hanging out on the hardback shelf because they were too big to fit with the others. In high school Francesca Lia Block became another favorite. I bought nearly all of her books rather than check them out. I read Girl Goddess #9 first and fell in love at first read. She is grouped with Hoffman because I feel they have similar writing styles. They both employ magical realism and have such lyrical, poetic prose.

hardback shelfhardback/Harry Potter shelf

This shelf has all of my hardbacks, which aren’t many. I am more of a trade paperback girl. This shelf contains all of the Harry Potter books because I bought them (mostly) as they came out.Β  This shelf also contains the Rosalind Miles Guinivere trilogy, Celia Rees’s Witch Child books and other random hardbacks/chunkster paperbacks that don’t fit anywhere else. I also have a few fun trinkets hanging out here. From the left: a pregnant torso (with baby included!) keychain that broke, fetal pig from high school anatomy class, butterflies that my sister gave me, and a Lizzie Borden bobblehead souvenir from the Lizzie Borden Bed and Breakfast.

top shelfwedding mask hanging out up top

That is a few of the many shelves that comprise my beloved bookcase. I leave you with one last shot taken from of the top, which houses family photos, a wedding picture, and our wedding masks.

What do your shelves look like? Do you house little treasures among your books? Do you group/stack them in a particular way?

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snoop Our Shelves: Jehara edition #3

  1. Annie says:

    For the moment no shelves, just books somewhere in boxes…. But in a few weeks…..

  2. Heather says:

    Thanks for letting us snoop! I loved it! I loved seeing some of your pictures and knick knacks as well. I still need to get on doing this on my blog. I just love it!

  3. izzybella says:

    Love this snoop!! It kind of felt like old times since I think I’ve been snooping your bookshelves forever. πŸ˜€ And the spiral photo just made me happy.

    • jehara says:

      I was wondering if you would be able to pick that out or not. It has been there since the day the shelf got erected. The friendships hands live on my bedside table. πŸ™‚

  4. Staci says:

    I loved looking at your shelves and all of the little figurines and photos that you have too!! my shelves are in alphabetical order and quite organized at the moment, but that’s because I just moved them into my book/craft room…give me time!! πŸ˜€

  5. Bumbles says:

    I love that you have block sections to sort out your collections of books and trinkets and memories. I especially love the Lizzy Borden bobble head – but that’s just my twisted sense of humor. I didn’t know you loved faeries – I was thinking of creating a faerie garden somewhere now that we have some landscaping projects completed. Now I know just who to turn to for advice!

  6. stacybuckeye says:

    I love taking a look at other reader’s shelves. Makes me feel like in a cool club with fun people. I really like Alice Hoffman too, but haven’t read enough of her books!

  7. Julie says:

    Most of our books are in boxes and we currently have piles on the floor in our living room which is less effective. We tried once to make a bookshelf and failed miserably, Shel thinks we will make one this summer, but I’m not so sure I feel confident about my building abilities.

Leave a Reply

