The Classic Bribe Status – Only Two Months To Go!!!


Image Credit

So how is my bribe going? In case you missed it, I am bribing everyone by way of an Amazon gift card to one lucky entrant to read just ONE classic book this summer. The Classic Bribe has been underway for a month and so far there are 4 entries.

  • Stacy @ Stacy’s Books reviewed A Room With A View by E.M. Forster (1908)…“I loved Lucy’s transformation and the humor Forster used to make this book fun and still important. I loved the whole thing and was especially charmed by the end.”
  • Bev @ My Reader’s Block reviewed Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (1817)…“This was a delight to read. As always, it is a perfect commentary on the social mores and expectations of the time. And Austen is even more pointed about it than usual–using authorial asides to make certain things clear.”
  • Louise @ A Strong Belief In Wicker reviewed Old Yeller by Fred Gipson (1956)…“Old Yeller is a bit of a loveable rascal. But he is a faithful, wise and brave dog who protects his new family from multiple threats. And he pays for his devotion in the famous climax of the book. Old Yeller is a fantastic book, that deserves to be more widely read.”
  • Gabriel @ Gabriel Reads reviewed The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain (1876)…“While the focus of the book is on Tom, the characters around him aren’t “background” characters at all. They have a voice, they have a personality, and they are instantly likable…except for Sid. He’s the kind of do-good, tattle-tale you just wanted to punch when you were a kid. I really don’t have anything bad to say about this book.”

That variety excites me and shows that Classics exist in all genres. Pick up one today and give it a try. Then post a review on your blog and link to it on The Classic Bribe challenge page’s Mr. Linky for your chance to win the Amazon Gift Card drawing after Labor Day weekend! The more Classics you review and link up, the more entries you have, increasing your winning odds.

**Note – linking to your blog’s home page rather than to a specific Classic review will NOT count as an entry**

About thebumbles

In addition to online Freelance Writing, Molly blogs about books on Quirky Girls Read and about everything else on The Bumbles Blog. Visit her often and let her know what you think! Unless you are a Yankee fan - then there might be a problem ;0)
This entry was posted in Challenges, Classics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Classic Bribe Status – Only Two Months To Go!!!

  1. Heather says:

    I’m half way through Persuasion!!! I’m getting closer!

  2. Louise says:

    I’m almost finished with my next book too.

  3. Kathleen says:

    I love it. I’ll have to try this idea with my son to get him to read!

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    You need to define classic for me. How about Mists of Avalon or Roots as newish classics? I know I still have Emma, but for some reason that is not exciting me right now.

  5. kaye says:

    I finally finished The Life of Charlotte Bronte by Elizabeth Gaskell and I hope to review it this week. I’ve started Shirley by Charlott Bronte and hope to finish it next week. I’m glad others have been making some progress.

Leave a Reply

