Discoveries

One of the great things about book blogs is finding new authors, new books, new genres.  For example, I just finished reading Me, Myself and Why? by MaryJanice Davison, based on Izzybella’s review–loved it.  Then Izzybella turned around and read (i.e., listened to) Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult.  I know that Jehara, several years ago, read Nineteen Minutes, also by Jodi Picoult, based on my verbal review to her.

Other books I’ve read, based on book blogs or verbal reviews, include Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier, the Fablehaven books by Brandon Mull (who is an outstanding person; he reached out to my best friend’s terminally ill son and gave him the treats of his life), and the Evermore series by Alyson Noel.  Then in turn, through reading Justine Larbalestier’s blog, I discovered Scott Westerfeld and Maureen Johnson, both of whom I adore.

There are other authors that I will automatically read anything I can find that they’ve written. This list includes Rick Riordan, Sarah Addison Allen, and–alas, he’s deceased, but I have read everything he’s written–John Bellairs.

I’ve met other authors through conferences (Charles deLint) and friends (Candace Havens). I have friends who are authors (Clover Autrey).

What about you? What discoveries have you made through book blogs and/or recommendations by your friends? Do share–we quirky girls are always on the lookout for great books.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Discoveries

  1. jehara says:

    I have definitely discovered many authors through you and Izzy, whether it is a verbal recommendation or you literally putting a book in my hands. So many of the authors you’ve listed I’ve read because you or Izzy recommended them-Justine Larbalastier, Scott Westerfeld, Jodi Picoult, Sarah Addison Allen. I discovered Charles de Lint through Rhinoa, a blogger friend. He is one of her favorite authors. Lately, I’ve added a lot of new titles to my book list based off of reviews I’ve read by fellow book bloggers. Two books I loved last year I picked up because Eva (A Striped Armchair)-Grey Horses-a graphic novel about a French exchange student and Expats-a collection of essays about real women’s experiences living abroad. I also get a lot of recommendations from my sister. I would never have picked up House of Night if she hadn’t lent me the first book. She has gotten me hooked on many a series. But I have definitely returned the favor. 🙂

    • Woot! I love it when I recommend a book, and the person to whom I recommend it ends up liking it as much as I did. And I’ve definitely read some based on your recommendation or the fact that it was on your bookshelf and something about the title or the cover piqued my fancy.

  2. Annie says:

    Numerous discoveries ! First “Little women” and all the L.M.Alcott’s books…

  3. Page Inman says:

    I’ve discovered some great cozy mysteries from http://lesasbookcritiques.blogspot.com/, a fellow librarian. I’ve also found great reads from Alyce from at home with books. The great thing about blogs is you get all these great recommendations and discover new authors.

  4. Bumbles says:

    I would say that these days, 90% of what I add to my reading pile these days come from book bloggers’ reviews and suggestions. It sure beats the days of wandering aimlessly through the library shelves in search of something to strike my fancy. Don’t get me wrong, I do love wandering through library stacks. But sometimes it is frustrating when you don’t know what you want and nothing jumps out at you. Having a mammoth list of titles to read on my Goodreads shelves makes life so much easier thanks to all those book blogger reviews.

Leave a Reply

