Weekly Geeks: Reading and Technology

eBooksphoto credit

This week the folks at Weekly Geeks are asking us about our reading habits, more specifically what type of reading do we do? Do we read paper books, ebooks, a combination of both? Do we like new reading technology or are we opposed to it? The following questions have been posed and the Quirky Girls answered:

  • Did you have a hard and fast mindset in regards to your reading a year ago? (paperback, ebooks etc) 
  • Are  you still true to that format?
  • If you have tried another format (ebook, audio) – Share your experience?
  • What was it that made you tried something out of your comfort zone?
  • If you have not tried another format – Why?
  • Give a brief over view of where you are at with your reading now, eg, load of paperback lying round, or the out of sight out of mind e-reader putting your mind at each or life as you know it have toss you a curve ball and forced you to think outside of the box?
  • How do you feel about different output method now?

Izzybella:

  • I didn’t. I had no objections to ebooks.
  • Pretty much.
  •  I have fallen absolutely in love with audio books.  They keep me from have road rage episodes when I’m stuck in the worst traffic imaginable (and since I live in a large metropolitan area, there’s some hateful traffic out there!!)
  • Initially, I bought the Harry Potter ebooks because as an actor, I’m a fan of good performances, and ya’ll Jim Dale is amazing in those audio books.  Afterwards, it occurred to me that audio books might be a fantastic way to “read” Lord of the Rings since I kept falling asleep to my paperback copy.  Worked great.  Another fantastic performance.
  •  I’ll try anything at this point.
  • I will NEVER give up all of my paper books, but I admit my bookcase isn’t quite as full as it used to be.
  • I still love ebooks in concept, but like a lot of customers, I am a bit put out with the fact that the ebook cost isn’t significantly less than the paper book.  For new releases especially, it’s most often cheaper to buy the hardback than it is the ebook.  That doesn’t seem right at all.

The Readerphoto credit

ChaucerianGirl:

  • I think a year ago was about when I got my nook. So I was definitely open to ebooks.
  • Very much so. The only books I buy in paper form are those that (a) I know I will want to keep forever and/or (b) are far cheaper to purchase used (I love you, Half-Price Books) than to purchase for my nook.  Another reason I like my nook is because I can have hundreds of books on hand in a device the size of a trade paperback. That means that if I am flying and have an unexpectedly lengthy layover, I need not panic and buy a book from the limited selection at the airport stores. I just sign on to the internet and buy a book from my wish list.
  • I love audio books.  Before I started carpooling again, they saved me from road rage. In addition, I find that books I have trouble reading in print (Hunchback of Notre Dame, anyone?) are a lot easier for me to “read” in audio format.
  • The clutter of my house.  I’m a voracious reader, and books were threatening to take over. Since then I have gotten rid of a LOT of books.
  •  Most of my reading is done on my nook. All the free books that I can get through google books, the free books barnes & noble offers, books on special, etc.  I do have to have at least a few paper books around the house so I can read in the bathtub. I mean, if I drop a paper book in the tub, I’m out a couple of bucks. If I drop my nook in the tub—you get the general idea.  I will say that I prefer my cookbooks to be in paper, and I have a nice stack of them in my pantry.
  • Love it.  I love that there are so many different ways to consume books.

ebook and paper bookphoto credit

Molly:

  •  I did not think e-readers were for me.  I could not fathom the lack of that feel of the pages between your fingers, the musty smell of an old book, the ability to see how far I had come and how much further I had to go in my reading, the end of a use for bookmarks…
  • I do still read more print books than electronic.
  • Yes.  I received an iPad for my birthday and loaded a few chunksters onto it.  I loved the instant dictionary at my fingertips while reading, the ability to mark passages, and the fact that I could read on the eliptical without getting cramps in my hands holding the fat book flat.
  • I didn’t want to look a gift horse in the mouth.
  • If you have not tried another format – Why? – N/A
  •  I enjoy reading both formats – hard to beat the convenience of the e-book though.
  •  They all have their pros and cons.  Testing out new methods is the only way to find out what fits for you.

Day One Hundred & Ninephoto credit

Jehara:

  • A year ago I only read paper books. Of that, about ninety percent were library books. I didn’t give much thought to the format I was reading. I didn’t have an e-reader nor did I desire one. I wasn’t against them. I am all for whatever will encourage people to read. I just didn’t think they were for me.
  • Ha! No. I received a Kindle for Christmas from my dad. He gifted one to my sister and me because we are such big readers. Neither one of us was terribly excited until we started playing with them. It took me a couple of months to warm up to the format, but I have to say, I am more than a little hooked.
  • I have dipped my toes into the world of audiobooks. Mostly it has been a positive experience. For me it is all about the narrator. I tried to listen to The Book Thief and I couldn’t get past the first minute. I tried listening to a few times, but I couldn’t stomach the narrator. However, when I read the paper version I couldn’t put it down. Books I’ve really enjoyed listening to are Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdoch (the narrator really made this one for me) and The Prophecy of Sisters (read by none other than the lovely Eliza Dushku.)
  • I’ll steal Molly’s words-I didn’t want to look a gift horse in the mouth. As for audio books, my first foray into them was Izzy lending me a couple of her audio books. I discovered that it is quite nice to listen to a book whilst cooking.
  • I have tried other formats. But I’d like to share a story. As Izzy and CG have been responsible for getting me hooked on various series and authors (not to mention tv shows) I have to take partial credit for their nook conversion. A mutual friend purchased a nook on a whim because the book she wanted to buy at the bookstore wasn’t available. However, it was available on the nook. All she had to do was purchase that instead. The book in question was a book I had reviewed. She must have wanted to read it badly enough because she promptly purchased the ereader and started reading the book that night. Well, she loved her ereader so much it got CG thinking she should get one. After she got hers, Izzy wanted one and eventually acquired one of her own. I take great pleasure in my small part in this domino effect. hee hee 🙂
  • I still have a giant shelf full of books, not to mention books in various stacks around my house, but they are a bit neglected as I am a little addicted to my Kindle. It is so handy to read on the train during my daily commute. And I love reading the New York Times on it. However, the last few weeks, I haven’t been reading it as much in favor of re-reading the Harry Potter books which are hardback.
  • I feel great about the variety in my reading. Although, I haven’t been to the library in a while and the Kindle ownership has me a lot more reckless in my book buying. I used to be really good with my discipline at the bookstore, but the ability to purchase a book at a whim without leaving my house has sorely tested me, haha.

Mrs. Duffee Seated on a Striped Sofa, Reading Her Kindle, After Mary Cassattphoto credit

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Geeks: Reading and Technology

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oooh, can I play? My answers will be short and sweet, I promise:

    A year ago, I was solidly a physical book reader. Like Jehara, most of what I read came from the library, and while I wasn’t opposed to ereaders, per se, I didn’t have one and had no particular desire to own one.

    I was also gifted a Kindle for Christmas, and while I was slow to warm to it, I do enjoy it. I still read physical books from the library, although I expect that will change when Kindle teams up with Overdrive and begins the library lending this fall.

    I haven’t tried any other formats other than books and ebooks . . . I find that my mind wanders with audiobooks, especially when I’m doing something while listening to the audiobook. (And if I’m not doing anything else, then why not read the words instead?)

    Mmmmm, I just packed up six boxes of books at my dad’s house. I love them and probably will never part with them . . . I can’t wait to have them in my possession again. The thing is, I don’t think I’ll ever get rid of the physical books that I love. And I’ll probably always buy physical copies of books that I love. There’s something about seeing it on my shelf as opposed to seeing it listed in one of my collections on my Kindle. For travel, you can’t beat an ereader (and I travel quite a bit). But I’m guessing I’ll always have physical books around. I love the feel of them so. And the artwork!!!

    • jehara says:

      I’m with you. I’ll never give up physical books. I love them too much. I didn’t know the Kindle was going to be offering library lending. Thanks for the heads up! I will definitely keep my eye out for that.

  2. Ladies reading all that was fantastic…

    It’s amazing how different you all are – yet some things are quite true and similar about what you love.. and go mental about

    @ Izzybeella (pretty name)

    I don’t drive myself – but I do love audio books when I am out and about – especially when I walk in the mornings..
    I did listen to the Twilight series last year as audio and they were a treat – If I had not already read The Lord of Ring , I think that series would be something i would enjoy in audio..

    I have been a e-reader owner for about 6 years now and you have touched on one of the major sore point for me with e-books – the cost… (Publishers and invested others need to address this -soon)

    Thank you for taking part this week.

    @ ChaucerianGirl:

    The clutter of my house </i)

    I know this – I am a hobby cook (if that even exist) and I have a massive cookbook stash in my kitchen, my living room and my upstairs landing, Unfortunately cookbooks don't translate so well into electronic format – so I still gravitate to paper books for the more creative activities that I have.

    I also love the fact that I have rediscovered the classics – some I hated at school or was just not ready to appreciate it then – but I find now years older and an e-reader later I am really getting into them.

    Thanks for taking part and take care of that nook …

    @ Molly

    Do you know the smell of books is one of the things that pushed me to getting an e-reader all those years ago and also the fact my employer was footing the bill.. but it is odd how we as readers love and hate the little things that makes reading a joy…

    Smell, the feel of a page between our fingers , closing that last page but mostly the fact we can give a book a good old toss across the room when the story drives us around the twist, are just some of the moment we as readers probably take for granted… I certainly cant toss my e-reader across the room.

    Testing out new methods is the only way to find out what fits for you.

    Absolutely agree – I would have missed out on some awesome experiences if I had been too hard and fast on my reading choices…

    Thanks for taking part – be well

    @ Jehara

    I think after reading your imput – I am of the opinion that you are the ring leader or at the least the one that lead the other ladies down the garden path here…

    Kudos to you on dragging them into the world of ereading….

    I still have a giant shelf full of books

    Even after all these years – I have a healthy stack of book… I had always imagine my actually paper back buying would diminish as I got more and more invested in my e-reader(s) but alas no…

    I am still carting home the odd books here and there and loving it.

    I feel great about the variety in my reading.

    Welcome to the world of Hybrid reading…

    Thank you for being a sport and taking part..

    E.H>

    • Bumbles says:

      I think that I most miss flipping the pages absentmindedly while I am engrossed in a chapter. That tactile experience is not replicated well digitally. But either format allows me to become absorbed in the story – e-reading is not distracting or difficult or a barrier in any way to the reader. And I think the technology may just revive the current generation of unrealized readers.

  3. @Kimberly

    Thank you for giving the weekly Geek challenge a go this week…

    I love your answers and can relate to each and every point you made…

    The love of just having physical books on my bookshelf is something I don’t think I will ever get tired of.

    I hope in time you find that right formula that works for you with audio books – As I use my hands constantly during the day I find audio a blessing.. It has really helped in whittling down my TBR pile…

    Enjoy your weekend…

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    Still haven’t converted to an ereader even though we have an Ipad in the house with Emma loaded on it. I won’t say never, but certainly don’t need it anytime soon. It was fun to see how you were all converted though 🙂 I do love audio books in the car, especially on long trips.

  5. Heather says:

    You ladies are so funny! I bought a Nook Color for Christmas and love it. I do love my paper books too and I still collect both quite abundantly…sigh. But it is so tempting to be able to instantly buy books and read them! Thanks for sharing your stories!

  6. Gwen says:

    I didn’t think that I would love my Kindle half as much as I do…funny.

    ChaucerianGirl mentioned cookbooks, I LOVE having them on my kindle for two reasons….one, with the case, I can prop up the book to see the recipe easily without getting flour and stuff on it…two, because I can search ALL of the cookbooks on it at one time. Like a week or so ago, I had a whole mess of rhubarb and was tired of just making sauce so on the home page, I just typed in “rhubarb” and was magically given a list of all of the rhubarb recipes in all of the cookbooks on my kindle. There was no searching each index of each cookbook, they were all there and it was heavenly:)

  7. kaye says:

    I have been reading e-books on my kindle for about 2 years now. I’m really grateful that my husband gave me a kindle for my birthday. Just 2 months after that I was struck with Bells Palsy that permanatly (sp?) paralyzed the left side of my face. Reading from paper is almost impossible for me. The muscles in my face become very fatigued and cramp up. Surprisingly the kindle is much kinder to my face and I don’t experience the difficulties in reading that I experience when I read from paper. So now all I look for are e-books. The other thing I love is that my reading choices were very limited pre-kindle. Now a whole world of literature is open to me. I love my kindle!

    I do love the look and feel of books so I do keep a few treasured and loved books in my bookshelf. And I do have a whole bucket full of children’s books for the grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

