Teaser Tuesday #10

Teaser Tuesday is sponsored by MizB at Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Grab a book you are reading, open to a random page and pull two sentences. Post the book title, author, and page number. No spoilers, please.

The great thing about our group of Quirky Girls is that we love to read a wide variety of books. Here’s a little taste of what we are reading right now:

ChaucerianGirl is reading The Ghosts on 87th Lane by M.L. Woelm

“I addressed the ghost in a clear voice, with just enough authority to let it know I meant business. ‘Sorry, that doesn’t impress me any longer. You’ll have to do better than that.'”

Izzybella is reading Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs

“My grandfather would have loved to have met you,” he told her huskily. “He would have called you ‘She Moves Trees Out of His Path.'”

She looked lost, but his da laughed. He’d known the old man, too.

“He called me ‘He Who Must Run into Trees,'” Charles explained, and in a spirit of honesty, a need for his mate to know who he was, he continued, “or sometimes ‘Running Eagle.'”

“‘Running Eagle’?” Anna puzzled it over, frowning at him. “What’s wrong with that?”

“Too stupid to fly,” murmured his father with a little smile.”

Margot is reading Going Bovine by Libba Bray

I stare at her. “Who . . . who are you?”

The room grows brighter with her smile. “I’m Dulcie. Pleased to meet you.”

“My hallucination has a name.”

Molly is reading A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith

“It doesn’t take long to write things of which you know nothing. When you write of actual things, it takes longer, because you have to live them first.” – Pg. 288 – A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith

By looking at our covers you might think we are all going through a dark phase. We’re not. We’re still as upbeat as ever. We just happen to be reading books with dark covers.

What about your reading? What do the covers of your books look like?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Teaser Tuesday #10

  1. The Going Bovine Teaser made me laugh. Thanks!

  2. Four very different books, but all great teasers. Thank you for sharing. If you get a chance, my teaser is here.

  3. Theresa says:

    Excellent teasers! I have Going Bovine in my 2-read pile. After reading this teaser, I’ll have to move it up.

    Here’s mine: Just One More Paragraph

  4. Kathy Martin says:

    I’ve read Hunting Ground and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn but the others are new to me. The cover of the book I’m teasing was pink. I’m reading a lot on my Kindle but I don’t think all my books have dark covers. My teaser is from Jane Jones: Worst. Vampire. Ever by Caissie St. Onge. Happy reading!

  5. izzybella says:

    Ha, the Going Bovine teaser is fantastic!

  6. Jessica says:

    I’ve been eyeing Going Bovine for a while. I think I may just have to get it soon.

  7. Amanda says:

    Love the Going Bovine teaser. Gotta love Libba Bray!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. Oh, I think Libba Bray must write humor…I have noticed her other book about Beauty Queens, (I think). Going Bovine sounds hilarious.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. kaye says:

    Margot–I’ve got to read that book, it sounds hilarious and I do like Libba Bray
    Izzybella–I love Patricia Briggs, the Charles and Anna series is very good.
    the girl–I think your brave, I try to avoid ghost stories
    Molly–another classic I’ve heard about often but never read.

    Kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  10. SusanB-knits says:

    I haven’t read this Patricia Briggs books. I’ll have to look for it.
    The Going Bovine teaser was funny! Sounds like an interesting book.

  11. Very different teasers…love “running eagle” as well as the Going Bovine teaser! Haven’t read this but will def put it on my to-read-pile.

    If you can, come visit My Blog

  12. I love Libba Bray! She is one of my favorite authors! I hope you’re enjoying Going Bovine 🙂

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

  13. Alice Audrey says:

    Uhoh. It’s never a good idea to challenge a ghost.

  14. Great teasers! I especially loved the Patrcia Briggs ones! I keep meaning to start this series!

    My Tease!

    Suzanne @ Under the Covers

  15. I love them all! My wishlist just keeps growing haha. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Bookgirl @ My Book Addiction

  16. pk @ aisle b says:

    I love the one with the hallucination has a name. Going to oggle that book man.

    Great teasers 🙂

  17. Loved the Hunting Ground teaser! Such a sweet scene! Thanks for stopping by My Teaser

  18. Belle says:

    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is one of my all time favorites. I love dark covers!

  19. reading rendezvous reviewz says:

    ” My hallucination has a name.” love that teaser. and the first one depicted a very brave person.
    good teaser ladies!!

Leave a Reply

