Book v Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I

With the final installment of the Harry Potter movie franchise coming out, we thought it would be fun to revisit the phenomenon with a special edition series of Harry Potter Book v Movie columns.

deathly hallows bookName of Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

By: J. K. Rowling

Publisher: Arthur A Levine Books

Copyright Date: US Edition July 21, 2007

Number of Pages: 784

Format: fiction

Reason for Reading: It’s Harry Potter, do we need a reason?

Rating: A+

 

deathly hallows part IName of Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I

Director: David Yates

Release Date:  November 19, 2010 (USA)

Running Time: 146

IMDB Linkage: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0926084/

Rating: A+

THE BOOK:

The final installment. We’ve finally made it. The final book is so epic that the movie version is split into two. Deathly Hallows is much more dangerous and scary than any of the previous installments. The landscape is utterly different. We aren’t in Hogwarts anymore. The book opens with the Order trying to smuggle Harry to a safe house before the protection his aunt and uncle’s house holds for him dissolves.  We are immediately plunged into danger and casualties with the opening chapters. Nowhere is safe and soon our trio is on the run. For most of the book the world seems pretty bleak for Harry and his pals. Voldemort has taken over and the effects are chillingly felt. The ministry has fallen, Gestapo-like creeds are set in motion, and Muggle-borns are on the run.

When the book originally came out, there were some complaints about the length of the book and the meandering of our heroes. I never felt this way, and upon re-reading it I still don’t. The way Rowling builds up to the end is extremely suspenseful, nail-biting and realistic. Harry isn’t going to magically (pun not intended) know where the Horcruxes are nor is he going to find them in a matter of weeks. The length of their journey and the moments of utter despair and frustration only enhanced the frightening and danger-laden tones. I was scared for our trio. I was devastated when beloved characters were killed off. All the books are action-packed and full of danger and adventure, but the level of danger they find themselves in Deathly Hallows is unprecedented and much more frightening than anything they have previously experienced.

THE MOVIE:

The first time I saw the movie, I was on the edge of my seat and so scared for the characters all over again. They really show daring and courage of unprecedented levels in Deathly Hallows. I thought I was scared and antsy whilst reading the book, but seeing it onscreen was even more so. The mad escape from the ministry, the creepiness of Bathilda Bagshot’s house and the discovery of what she had become were supremely well done, full of the danger, suspense, and thrills of the book. There were a few things they changed up in the movie, but I thought they were lovely additions and enhanced the story. They didn’t annoy me the way the changes in movie six did. The scene where a Death Eater is right outside their encampment with Hermione a breath away, shielded by her protective charms was nerve-wracking. I thought the scene with Hermione and Harry dancing was touching. It lightened the mood for just a moment while simultaneously enhancing the despair of their situation. Their capture and escape with the aid of Dobby was frightening and thrilling. The final scenes with Dobby really hurt my heart but were so well done. I thought they ended part I at the perfect spot. Having just re-read the whole book, we are going to be in for quite a ride with Part II because so much happens in the final third. It is completely action-packed and nail-biting frightening.

THE VERDICT:

The HP books always win out over the movies, but this movie is my hands down favorite of them all. It is so well done. This movie captured my reading experience almost to a tee. All the emotions I felt while reading, the nail-biting, the fear, the antsy anticipation, I experienced again while viewing the film, in all the same places. No other HP movie experience has been like that, although I do love them all. I am so so excited for the final installment. If it is anywhere close to Deathly Hallows Part I, I would venture to say the pair are the best movies of the entire franchise.

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book v Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part I

  1. izzybella says:

    First this:
    “Harry isn’t going to magically (pun not intended) know where the Horcruxes are nor is he going to find them in a matter of weeks.”
    I felt the same way. Those moments of, for lack of a better word, boredom, interspersed with the constant sheer state of terror they were living in actually enhanced the story for me. It made me wonder what it must have been like living underground during the World Wars and being part of a resistance. It seems glamorous, but it’s really not. You know as dedicated as Harry and Hermione were to stopping Voldemort, there are so many moments where one or the other expressed a desire to be elsewhere – with Ginny, with Ron, with parents, etc. The “boredom” wasn’t at all boring in that it kept me biting me nails wondering when and how Voldemort would strike next. It also served as an excellent backdrop for Harry’s growing sense of despair and acceptance.

    Second, I agree completely with your assessment. On first viewing Harry’s dance with Hermione seemed awkward, but on second viewing the awkwardness fit. It was just Harry being who he is and Hermione allowing herself to take a few moments of comfort. I found it quite moving. I also cried ridiculous tears with Dobby, the free elf.

    I’m so excited for next week, it’s just not even funny. 🙂 Those lucky Brits!!!!

    • jehara says:

      Exactly to everything you said about their time wandering aimlessly. Those parts really had me on my toes and so nervous for the characters. I thought Rowling crafted the sense of being at war and underground very well.

      I am so so so excited for next week. I can hardly stand it!!!

  2. Heather says:

    Totally agree! Excellent first parter and cannot wait until this weekend!

  3. Penelope says:

    I agree! This book totally captured the magic and brought it to life. Very well put!

  4. Penelope says:

    …and by book, I of course mean movie. *embarrassed*

  5. kaye says:

    I agree the books are better, but that is the general rule. I’m hoping to get to Part 2 this weekend.

Leave a Reply

