Book V Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

With the final installment of the Harry Potter movie franchise coming out, we thought it would be fun to revisit the phenomenon with a special edition series of Harry Potter Book v Movie columns.

deathly hallows bookName of Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

By: J. K. Rowling

Publisher: Arthur A Levine Books

Copyright Date: US Edition July 21, 2007

Number of Pages: 784

Format: fiction

Reason for Reading: It’s Harry Potter, do we need a reason?

Rating: A+

Name of Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

Director: David Yates

Release Date:  July 15, 2011(USA)

Running Time: 130 minutes

IMDB Linkage: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1201607/

Rating: A+

THE BOOK:

There’s a moment in the last book where Harry is walking to meet his fate.  It should be terribly sad, and it is, but it’s also rather poignant and beautiful because he’s not alone.  Harry has discovered the secret hidden inside the snitch and is rewarded with the company of those he loves best.  I’m sure Harry was terribly frightened-the task given him by Professor Dumbledore, and inadvertently, by Voldemort is horrible enough for a grown person to face, much less a teenage boy.  But Harry is comforted by the presence of those who fought before him: his parents, Sirius Black, Remus Lupin.  Harry finds that he’s not quite as fearful with them by his side, and though the task is still dreadful, he can face it.  At the end of the day, the through line of Harry Potter has always been about love.  Harry started off seeking it desperately-his position as seeker on his Quidditch team almost a literal metaphor.  It’s this message that I took away from Harry Potter.  Like most fans, I’d be thrilled if JK Rowling gave us more (and pottermore.com is just what the doctor ordered), but she ended it perfectly.  Love brought Harry into the world.  Love prepared him for his destiny.  Love made him strong and confident.  Love destroyed hate.  And, finally, Love gave Harry a reason to keep going when he thought he was through. 

THE MOVIE:

LIGHT SPOILER WARNING:

For the price of one, we give you the opinion of three quirky girls.  Jehara, Faith and Izzy (that’s me) just got back from the midnight dork viewing of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part the Second.  The movie was brilliant, to quote the superior Faith (or awesome if you wish to quote the equally superior Jehara).  I liked it as well and believe that combined with Part One, this is easily the best movie from this franchise.  The three leads have continued to grow as actors and seem to know their characters so well that they fully embody them.  As always, the supporting cast was terrific.  We must give particular praise to Alan Rickman’s performance as Severus Snape.  Julie Walters’ impassioned defense of her daughter was an especial highlight as was the added dialogue given to Alan Rickman in Snape’s finest hour.  Harry’s meeting with his loved ones in the forest (see above) was very poignant.  We also appreciated the juxtaposition of the humor with the extremely dark subject matter.  Two high points: McGonagall’s defense of Hogwarts (yay!! stone knights!!) and Helena Bonham Carter’s bravo performance as Hermione as Bellatrix.  As always, there were many changes to JK Rowling’s book, but most were apt and served the story well.  One of our few gripes of the script was Harry throwing about the word “horocrux” willy-nilly.  We also wish Harry and Dumbledore’s scene at King’s Cross hadn’t been so drastically abbreviated and we admit that the Gringotts break-in was anti-climactic.  Finally, we wish some elements of the book Battle of Hogwarts had made it into the film, particularly Harry’s vindication of Severus Snape in front of the entire school.  Overall, however, this was a fantastic finale to a brilliant film series.

THE VERDICT:

This is a book review blog.  It’s almost always going to be the book, but we reiterate again that this was an outstanding finale.

harry potter pic

About izzybella

Just trying to figure it all out.
This entry was posted in Award Winners, Posts by Izzy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book V Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    It looks like y’all had a blast! My hubby and I plan to see the movie this weekend. It’s rather bittersweet, isn’t it? I’m excited about the movie but sad to see the series end.

    • izzybella says:

      It is very bittersweet. We had a great time but there’s some sadness that it’s over. Whatever the case, it was fun being a part of it.

  2. ccjamess says:

    Look at you guys!!! So much joy on your faces, with or without the costumes…

  3. Margot says:

    I’m so impressed with you loyalty to the blog that you came home and wrote about the movie before going to bed. Good for you IzzyBella. And thanks for the picture. Your costumes are great. I’m so glad you had fun, since that’s what it’s all about.

    • izzybella says:

      Thanks Margot! We kind of all three wrote it together, but I have to confess it was difficult getting up this morning. 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    Great picture!!! You all look awesome! I loved this one. Just finished it. Wow. I need to reread the books and then watch the movies again so I can give a good comparison. An excellent review of both!

  5. kaye says:

    the film was artfully done and so true to the book. I loved Harry’s moment with Snape, Kings Cross and the epilouge. I feel very satisfied. It has been an epic journey both in the literary world and the film world. I raise my glass to JK and I think I’ve finally forgiven her for Dumbledore–somehow seeing him all in white in the life beyond was peacefully reassuring. I also was very touched by the whole sentiment that the ones we love never really leave us as long as they dwell in our hearts. I confess to shedding many tears.

    love your quirky girls pic 😀

    • izzybella says:

      Raising my glass with you! She is such a fantastic story-teller and the film most definitely did justice to the books. We might have shed tears also, but you can’t prove it!!

  6. Ben says:

    SPOILERS: I wonder about your opinion concerning the metaphysical nature of magic and how Dumbledore explains it in the movie? The movie quote is something along the lines of, “I suspect our words are our most powerful magic” turning the entire concept of magic into humanistic propaganda. In the book Dumbledore states something more along the lines that, “love is more powerful than magic,” which he never states in the movie. The book never clarifies magic like the movie chose to. These two excerpts may be related, or they could totally separate the entire franchise on a fundamental level (especially for those people who only watch the movie for example).

    For a universe created to depend on something called “magic” as a fundamental plot point and device, the lack of clarity is very unpleasing.

    • izzybella says:

      That’s a fair comment. I think we know the books so well that it’s easy for us (by us, I mean me) to see events in a specific context which might not be applicable to movie-goers who did not read the books. I could see how the message might be mixed.
      I don’t think it makes it humanistic propaganda, but that’s just my opinion, obviously. You could probably take Dumbledore’s message that love is more powerful than magic as humanistic propaganda also. I don’t think that humanistic is necessarily a fault in any case. The books have touched so many people in very profound ways that perhaps “humanistic” is an apt adjective. It’s interesting you say that though-I saw a play this weekend based on Alice in Wonderland where they quoted the “saying what you mean and meaning what you say is not necessarily the same thing” conversation.

      Thank you for commenting!

  7. Well I agree, i prefer the books better… although the movie in my opinion was the best of the series so far, and a great finalle. They left out (in the movie) details that i think were important. for example: In the book, Harry Potter and Tom Riddle’s (Voldemort) final battle, Harry was victorious in front of the whole school. In the Movie… them two alone… and the other detail that really got me, In the Movie’s epilogue – Harry Potter does not have THE SCAR on his forehead!!! (or at least i didnt see it) and the book end’s and i quote “The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All was well.” ….. In my opinion this should have been added somehow into the film, it gave me a final conclusion to the series…

    Well I just wanted to tell that to someone… Im a Harry Potter Geek!!! and proud to say it…

    Have a good day,

  8. MWK says:

    Sigh. I agree that McGonagall’s defense of Hogwarts was a highlight – I totally started weeping. In all I thought the movie was great (and need to go see it again). My one complaint (SPOILER ALERT) – the death of the Weasley twin was a HUGE part of the book for me and really broke my heart. Maybe it was because I was steeling myself for it to happen in the movie so I didn’t lose my shit in public but i thought they glossed over it a bit. I was expecting them to make that a bigger moment. At least they left in the part where Mrs. Weasley defends Ginny – if they’d left that out I would have been PISSED. I’m glad you liked that part, too. Also: “old” Ron? Hilarious.

    • jehara says:

      It was really difficult for me when Fred died. I liked how in the movie it was a slow motion shot in the heat of battle, but it could have been a little bit longer because yeah, it could be easily missed if you weren’t paying attention. I would have hurled things at the screen if they had left out Molly’s defeat of Bellatrix. It was pretty cool the way she got sucked out of existence too.

Leave a Reply

