Odd book habits: I hoard books

book hoardingIt has recently occurred to me that I am a book hoarder. What do I mean by this? Well, when I acquire books that I am very excited about, they tend to stack up quite literally. There is a space in my living room where I stack books I want to read and/or am currently reading. I have realized that they tend to sit there for a while. I get so eager for certain books that I really don’t know what to do with myself once I get my grubby little hands on them. I think perhaps I have a bit of book anxiety. Will the books measure up to my expectations? And if they do, I am left with a bit of book depression-you know, that sad, melancholy feeling after you’ve turned the last page, wishing there were more pages to keep the story going. (Or am I the only one who feels that?)

Looking back I can see that I have done this for ages; however, my book acquisition used to be a bit slower and more subtle. For instance, I bought The Girl With No Shadow within days of it being published, but it took me a little over three years to finally read it. I did the same with Her Fearful Symmetry although it took me a lot less time to crack it open. There is some sort of pleasure to be derived from this anticipation; however, it seems to have really gotten out of hand as of late. I am simply feeling overwhelmed by my choices and can’t seem to start a new book.

The books I am hoarding:

Woman Warrior-I just bought this at Half-Price Books while I was in Texas. It is a book I read in college and really loved. I lent it to a friend and never got it back. I have been wanting to obtain another copy for years. Now that I have it, I want to re-read it.

Rick Steve’s Great Britain-Ugh. I have been meaning to read this since April. B and I are going to London in five weeks. While I’ve been there plenty of times and the first few days of our trips will be a surprise for us (yay!! no planning required!) I did want to read up on what is around to see what we might want to do during our last couple of days-aside from seeing the Tower of London (finally!) and doing a Harry Potter tour. On second thought, that might be plenty to do, which means I may not need to read this after all.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix-During my mad re-read of the series before the movie came out and in keeping with our book v movie series, I realized (again) that I do not have this book. I always seem to forget. So I borrowed it from a friend. Now that I have re-read all the others and have seen the final movie, it no longer seems important to get to this one before any others.

Exit the Actress-This is a telltale sign of my hoarding. I have been wanting to read this since Izzy’s review. I was even lucky enough to win my own copy during Armchair BEA. So why I haven’t I started it yet???

Vampire Academy-Example #2. This was a Christmas gift from my sister. Since then I have been coming across raving reviews all over the place. I really want to read this one. It is well within my reach. So why haven’t I started it? (I suspect it has something to do with it is part of a series and once I finish it I will have a mad need to get my hands on all the other books as.soon.as.possible.)

Day of Honey-I read a review for this in the New York Times at the beginning of the year. The review itself and the beautiful quotations had me wishing I had a copy in my hand right now. I was lucky enough to win my own copy during Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon. I was super excited when it finally came in the mail. And yet. . . there it sits. . . untouched.

Nyx in the House of Night-I have been wanting to read this since I first read about it during Armchair BEA. Izzy was lucky enough to win a copy and kind enough to let me take it home with me last week. I am already feeling book anxiety and hoarding coming at the idea of starting this one. It is sitting on my bedroom floor with a manga series Izzy lent me that I am excited to bust into.

It probably seems weird that I feel a bit paralyzed when surrounded by so many good books. Much more sane readers would have plowed through these already. However, I can’t be the only one that does this, yes?

Which book should I read first? Do you have any odd book habits that you would like to share?

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Odd book habits: I hoard books

  1. Heather says:

    I’m just as bad. I ordered Heartless by Gail Carriger which is the fourth in the series and I have yet to get it. Or the ya novel Graceling has a prequel Fire, which I haven’t touched. I also picked up a ton of awesome fiction books from the local library book sale, ten cents a piece, and have yet to touch one. Then I hoard books from the actual library and feel that I should get to those first since i have to give them up sooner or later…so I never get to the ones I actually own! It’s a terrible, terrible thing! So glad I’m not the only book hoarder! Good luck on getting through your own hoard!

  2. Staci says:

    Hello, my name is Staci and I hoard books!! Sounds like this one is contagious!! 😀 I hoard all of them!!

  3. Pingback: What kind of a series reader are you? |

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    I have the same problem! I do try to give away 3 or 4 books a month on my blog to keep the problem in check but I have books on my shelves that I’ve been excitedto read for years 🙂 You are not alone!

Leave a Reply

