Review: Vampire Academy

vampire academyName of Book: Vampire Academy
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: 2007
Number of Pages: 332
Format: YA, paranormal, fiction
Reason for Reading: my sister has been insisting i read this for months now
Rating: B+

 

 

“Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires-the ones who never die.  The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, make her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.”

As usual, I am late to the party, but after much insistence by my sister, I have finally cracked this series open and can I just say I LOVE IT.  My resistance is usually ill-founded but hey, I just go with it and read books in my own time.  I do get a bit tired of the vampire saturation of the market at times, but I am all for a creative twist on the vampire myth.

In Mead’s world there are good vampires and evil vampires and a race of half-human, half-vampire peeps.

The breakdown:

Moroi-mortal vampires who live and die, have children, and wield powerful magic. They only feed off of willing humans (feeders) and never kill for food.

Strigoi-immortal vampires that are evil and kill for sport. One becomes a Strigoi if they intentionally kill a feeder or kill another Moroi.

 Dhampirs-a race of people that have mixed human and vampire blood. They live among the Moroi and usually act as their guardians, protecting them from the Strigoi. Dhampirs have excellent speed, strength, and heightened senses. They do not, however, have the ability to perform magic.

In the first volume we are acquainted with Rose Hathaway and Lissa Dragomir. Rose and Lissa have been on the run for two years, but have been captured and returned to the private school from which they fled, St Vladimir’s Academy.  Lissa practices magic so ancient that it is only spoken of in the old stories. No one in modern vampire society is known to wield the power she does. There are those that covet her magic, which means she is in perpetual danger.

I won’t say too much more of the plot itself as I don’t want to give away spoilers.

What I loved: Rose Hathaway is a bonafide badass.  She is tough and spunky with an attitude. She is also extremely loyal. Dimitri Belikov, Rose’s mentor in her Guardian training, is completely dreamy and a badass himself.  (I daresay I have a book crush on him.) I really liked the way book one sets up the series as a whole, which is six books. I can see where the series is headed, and I am excited to see how it all plays out.  I like the way vampire society is laid out. It is different from other vampire series I’ve read, although it does remind me a little bit of Blue Blood society. Rose and Dimitri are fleshed out well. They feel real and I am already overly attached. I also really like Christian. I could see his character more clearly than Rose could in the beginning. He is another dynamic, spunky, and amusing character.

 What I didn’t Like: There wasn’t much to dislike. My only complaint is that some of the characters, such as Lissa and Mia, don’t seem as well-fleshed as the other main characters. Hopefully, this changes as the series evolves.

This is was a quick and delightful read. I started it Friday morning on the train and couldn’t get enough of it on my breaks and during lunch. I went home Friday and read until I finished it. I started volume two on Sunday evening and finished it Monday on my afternoon break. You know I’ve already started volume three. (I told you I was a series addict!) These books are action-packed and difficult to put down.

This entry was posted in Fiction, paranormal, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: Vampire Academy

  1. Heather says:

    I’ve heard excellent things about this series. So glad that the series is finished so I can now sit down and start and finish them all! Great review!

  2. izzybella says:

    I love this series. You need to review them all so I can find out what you think about the storyline thus far. Lissa and Mia do get fleshed out a bit more-I don’t think it’s spoilage to tell you that. And Dmitri is a worthy bookcrush. 🙂

  3. Penelope says:

    Fantastic review! I read this recently and loved it as well. I still have to wait until I can get the next books, but I hear they just get better and better. Glad you gave it a try!

    • jehara says:

      I am still missing the last two books. I am almost done with the ones I have so I will be in that spot shortly. I am on the third one, and I would have to agree that each one is getting better than the last, which is saying a lot because each one is already so good on its own!

      • Penelope says:

        Good to hear! I love it when they get better…it’s such a disappointment when they aren’t as good as the last. I’ll be watching for your reviews. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Review: Vampire Academy: Spirit Bound |

  5. I love your banner! i also think i’m going to give this series a try 🙂 if any of you have the time, please visit my blog…like/comment/hopefully enjoy! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Review: Vampire Academy: The Last Sacrifice |

Leave a Reply

