The Independent Literary Award

Rather than my usual post about a book that won an award, I’d like to tell you about a unique set of book awards. They are the Independent Literary Awards.

What makes these awards so unique is that it’s the readers, the book bloggers who nominate the books. For the second year the best books, in our opinion, published in 2011, are the ones that will be read, considered, nominated, and voted upon. Isn’t that a great idea?

The books will be nominated and awarded in seven different categories: Fiction, Mystery, NonFiction, GLBT, Poetry, Biographies/Memoirs, and Speculative Fiction. Nominations can be submitted from September 1 until December 31.

Most people who read this blog are avid readers and/or book bloggers. That means you can nominate some books for this award! I strongly urge you to become involved. Look at the books you’ve read, the ones published in 2011, and choose your favorites.

Once the nominations are complete, they will be tallied and the top five books will be placed on a Short List. Then a Director and Voting Members in each category will read those five books and vote on the top two which will be considered the finalists.  The awards are announced in March 2012.

I’ve already taken a look at the books I’ve read this year. I’ve started compiling my list of favorite books – the ones published this year. I don’t read books in all of the categories, so I will only submit my nominations in four categories. Here’s what I’m thinking so far:  (By clicking the title you can go to the product description at Amazon.)

In Bioraphies/Memoirs there are two books I think were superb: The Paper Garden by Molly Peacock and Radio Shangri-La by Lisa Napoli

In Fiction I can’t make up my mind between Joy For Beginners by Erica Bauermeister, Every Last One by Anna Quindlen or The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted by Bridget Asher. My sentimental favorite right now is Joy For Beginners. I cried and laughed all the way through the book.

In the Mystery category I only have one: Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark. I read too many vintage mysteries that I’ve fallen behind on current books.

My NonFiction reading this year has consisted of many food books. I have two favorites so far:  Heartland: The Cookbook by Judith Vertig and Grilled Cheese, Please! by Laura Werlin. Both books were very well written.

That’s my list. I hope you’ll start thinking about your possible nominations. We don’t have to have our nominations done by September 1st. That’s a good thing because there will be other books in the coming months that I know I’ll have strong feelings about. For instance, Louise Penny is coming out with her latest mystery in a few weeks and I’m sure that will have many people nominating it for best mystery.

My goal today was to tip you off to the awards and to get you to start thinking about the new books you’ve read this year, or are about to read. Here’s the home page for the website: Indie Lit Awards. Visit, get more information and start preparing your nominations. I’m happy that my opinion on books will be considered. It’s nice to have a say in books that will win awards.

Do you have a favorite book you’d like to nominate?

More than one?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Independent Literary Award

  1. TheBookGirl says:

    I am definitely going to start thinking about what books deserve nominations. I know of one memoir and one fiction selection for sure.

  2. kaye says:

    what a great idea–It looks like you’ve put some thought into that list.

  3. stacybuckeye says:

    Thanks for the heads up. I’ll have to take a look at what I’ve read that was first published this year. The latest Harlan Coben comes to mind. His best yet, I think.

  4. Staci says:

    I love checking out what everyone’s favorites are for this award!!

Leave a Reply

