Review: Vampire Academy vol 2-4

frostbiteName of Book: Vampire Academy: Frostbite
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: April 2008
Number of Pages: 336
Format: YA, paranormal, fiction
Reason for Reading: am in full-on series addict mode since finishing Vampire Academy
Rating: B+

Rose is falling for her mentor, Dimitri. Dimitri may have the hots for Tasha. And Mason, one of Rose’s good friends, definitely has a thing for her. There are some romantic knots afoot but don’t let that fool you. Frostbite is packed with action and nail-biting moments. Rose’s love life is in shambles and it seems the secrets she is keeping from her best friend, Lissa, keep mounting. But there are more pressing matters to worry about. There has been another Strigoi attack with a startling body count. Everyone is holed up at a ski resort for the holidays, while the Moroi royals debate how to proceed in light of the attack. The Strigoi are using unprecedented methods and the game is changing. Will the Morois have the courage to respond with new methods of their own, or will they cling to tradition?

Mead does not hold anything back. Rightly so, with only six books in the series the action moves forward quickly and relentlessly. The last third of the book really had me on edge. Mead mercilessly puts her characters in peril. Just when you think it can’t get any worse, it does. This installment left me breathless.

shadow kissName of Book: Vampire Academy: Shadow Kiss
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: November 2008
Number of Pages: 448
Format: YA, paranormal, fiction
Reason for Reading: am in full-on series addict mode since finishing Vampire Academy
Rating: A+

Rose may be seeing ghosts, which she desperately tries to keep from everyone around her; however, her spirit visions are getting in the way of her field experience training. If she doesn’t pass, then she will not become a guardian. Rose and Dimitri continue to struggle with their forbidden love. There is a secret society on campus recruiting royals for a sinister purpose. However, all of that pales in comparison to the unprecedented Strigoi attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy. The places that once were safe for the Morois are no longer.

One thing I really enjoy about this series is that thus far there is very little human interaction. Most vampire stories involve a human involved with a vampire. Not in Vampire Academy. The forbidden aspect of the love story between Rose and Dimitri derives from the fact that they are both guardians. Not to mention that he is her mentor and seven years older. Another thing I like is that I am able to figure things out before Rose does, which makes me feel smart. Mead is not predictable in the sense of being contrived. Rather, she peppers enough clues that if you are paying attention, you can see the path ahead. However, having my suspicions of where the story was headed still did not prepare me for the end. I cried my eyes out in a major way. I haven’t felt so sad and shed such tears since reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows when it first came out.

blood promiseName of Book: Vampire Academy:  Blood Promise
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: April 2010
Number of Pages: 512
Format: YA, paranormal, fiction
Reason for Reading: am in full-on series addict mode since finishing Vampire Academy
Rating: A-

Rose is on a mission. A mission that forces her to abandon Lissa and her education. A mission that takes her directly into the Strigoi’s lair.

I am doing my best to not give any spoilers because I do not want to ruin the reading experience for those who have not read the series yet. Somehow, I managed to stay away from them and was blissfully unaware of them while reading. I am maintaining full willpower and not reading the jackets of the books I have not read or any reviews or descriptions.

This installment is really interesting. We encounter new characters that have been spoken of in previous installments.  We experience the consequences of Rose and Lissa’s extended separation. We learn more about the element of spirit and the phenomenon of being shadow kissed. There were moments that made me uncomfortable for Rose and I was extremely relieved when she finally came to her senses, although a part of me was glad for her incapacitation and what it allowed her to experience. As always, when things don’t seem they can get any bleaker, they do. The fights are long and harrowing.

So, I’ve finished the first four books. I did go to the bookstore yesterday to pick up the final two. I must know how this series ends. Stay tuned. 🙂

This entry was posted in Fiction, paranormal, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review: Vampire Academy vol 2-4

  1. izzybella says:

    I cried buckets of tears too, though like you, I was able to see clear path where the characters were going. In this instance it wasn’t about being surprised, per se, but watching the characters stumble toward an inevitable outcome. I’m glad you are enjoying. 🙂

    • jehara says:

      Yeah. I just didn’t want them to have to go through all that agony. But then again, if they weren’t, there wouldn’t be much of a story. 🙂

  2. Trisha says:

    I toyed with starting these a few months ago. Obviously, I should have followed through and picked them up. 🙂 Perhaps I’ll ask for the series for Christmas… 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    I’ve heard these are must reads! I’m glad they’re finished so when I finally get to them I can just finish them all at once!

    • jehara says:

      That is how I am reading them, Heather!! I am really glad I don’t have to wait in between books. So there is something to be said for not hopping on the hype train right away. 😉

  4. Pingback: Review: Vampire Academy: Spirit Bound |

  5. Pingback: Review: Vampire Academy: The Last Sacrifice |

Leave a Reply

