Review: Vampire Academy: The Last Sacrifice

last sacrificeName of Book: Vampire Academy: The Last Sacrifice
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: Nov 2010
Number of Pages: 594
Format: YA, paranormal, fiction
Reason for Reading: am in full-on series addict mode since finishing Vampire Academy
Rating: A+

“Murder. Love. Jealousy. And the ultimate sacrifice. Now with Rose awaiting wrongful execution and Lissa in a deadly struggle for the royal throne, the girls find themselves forced to rely upon enemies and to question those they thought they could trust. . . “

The above is taken from the back of the book. It is vague enough to not give away details you may want to discover when you read Spirit Bound (why is Rose on trial?) while being specific enough to give you some idea of what is going in the final book.

Rose is on a mission that will help Lissa gain her rightful place at court. We meet a group of vampires living off the grid. Sydney the Alchemist is back. The relationships between Rose and her parents continues to develop. Old enemies return. Overall, there is plenty of danger and tense anxiety (on the part of the reader, I might add, ahem.) Rose really seems to be in impossibly tight spots that make one wonder how ever will she get out of them? Mead  continues to surprise and take our characters to the edge.

There were moments that truly surprised me. And this book had me crying again, except this time I didn’t foresee that particular event happening so it really knocked me down. At my desk. At work. (Luckily, it was lunchtime so no one could see me shedding tears.)

The series as a whole:

As evidenced by my reviews I blew through these books. It has been a long time since a series has so completely captured my attention and imagination. I became emotionally invested in the characters. I dreamt about them. I thought about them in the moments I couldn’t continue reading about them.  Reading these books made me feel really good. It reminded me of the sheer pleasure reading can bring. It is one of the better vampire series I’ve read in a long while.

So. Now that I have completed them all, I will (im)patiently wait for the first installment of Bloodlines to come out next week so I can get my next fix, even if it won’t be of Rose, Lissa and the gang.

In case you missed them:

Vampire Academy

Frost Bite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise

Spirit Bound

This entry was posted in Fiction, paranormal, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Vampire Academy: The Last Sacrifice

  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: Bloodlines |

  2. Pingback: Review: The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo |

Leave a Reply

