Interwebs Friday

This Friday, I thought I would change it up a bit and highlight some fun things that are happening around the interwebs.

Trish at Eclectic/Eccentric wrote a fascinating review about John Adams. I am interested in specific periods of history, I never think too much about former Presidents, or those who have shaped her own history. Trish’s review has me wanting to remedy that, pronto.

She writes, “While McCullough does a wonderful job of bringing the time, culture, and characters to life while simultaneously delivering a wealth of information regarding a complex political climate. The time in which Adams lived was a time of revolution, a time of change, and the book includes many of the notable figures of the time. Thomas Jefferson, of course, features prominently throughout the story, and I really enjoyed the juxtaposition of these two powerful, intelligent, diverse men.” Go on over and read the rest of her review.

BBAW is coming up soon! September 12-16 to be exact. While the nomination period has closed, signups are currently happening for the interviews swap.

Penelope at The Reading Fever penned an essay about the trend of disappearing parents in YA literature. Now, I’ll admit that I have never given this too much thought in regards to the books I read. I suppose I am very willing to suspend my disbelief. However, not so much when it comes to tv. I very much notice this when watching certain shows. (I’m looking at you Gossip Girl.)

And finally, Eva at A Striped Armchair wrote a beautiful Hymn to Unread Books. I have been working out a post on TBR lists, how they are compiled, and books chosen. Eva looks at the list from a completely different and unique perspective.

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interwebs Friday

  1. jennygirl says:

    I forgot about BBAW! How terrible am I?
    Great round up post. Thanks Jehara 🙂

  2. Trisha says:

    Awwww…thanks so much for mentioning my post on John Adams! I love the post on disappearing parents!

Leave a Reply

