Snoop Our Shelves: Margot’s Version

snooping our shelvesHere at Quirky Girls Read we’ve been taking turns showing off our book shelves. Today it’s my turn. But, before I show you mine, you should know where and how I live. Ever since we retired, my husband and I have been traveling around the US, living in an RV.

Now, if you’ve ever been inside an RV, you know there isn’t a lot of space for book shelves. Our RV is one of the longer ones but still . . .

As the old saying goes – where there’s a will, there’s a way. Since we both love to read, we found a way. We have two small shelves. Jay has one and I have the other.  It’s only 16 inches long. Mine holds primarily some of the references I use most often (Agatha Christie’s autobiography, grammar books, a food writing anthology, and a devotional book.)

If you were visiting us in person and wanted to see the rest of our books, you really would have to snoop. You have to open the cabinet doors to see all the stacks. In the picture above you see the cabinets on either side of the little shelf.

There are four deep cabinets across the very back of our RV. Two are Jay’s and two are mine. I keep my sewing and quilting supplies in one and the second is filled with books. That’s what you see in the picture above. (That pile is three stacks deep.)

Our RV is rich in cabinet space, which is one of the reasons we choose this model. I have another cabinet over my desk that is half full of books. Then upstairs in the bedroom area I have four small plastic bins that stand on one end, link together to form bookshelves. Oh, and there are a few tote bags filled with books, too. We do have an under-the-house storage area we call the basement. We did have a good sized box of books down there but, in the last couple of years, I’ve managed to read those and pass them on to others.

It takes some effort to manage the books I have. For instance, I have a list for each cabinet that says the title and author of each book inside. The tough part for me is keeping the list up-to-date whenever I add or give away a book. We have adopted a firm practice of giving away nearly every book we read. It’s helped us keep our home cleaned out.

On the other hand, I now own a Kindle. E-readers were made for people like us – the ones who can’t stop collecting books. It doesn’t take up any space and almost every book I want is available within 60 seconds, or less.

I carry it everywhere I go – in the RV and out. Someone is always asking me about my Kindle. I’ve gotten good at giving a quicky-tour. Lately I’ve been meeting people who also have an e-reader. Our conversation immediately jumps into “What are you reading?” and “I’ll show you mine if you show me yours.” I love meeting these fellow book lovers who carry their book shelves around with them. I’ve decided we’ve reached the techy version of snooping our shelves.

I hope you’ve enjoyed looking at my “book shelves”.  If you have some books (hardback, paperback, or e-reader) you want to show off, leave a link in the comments area. We’ll come and snoop around at your place.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snoop Our Shelves: Margot’s Version

  1. You do have them crammed in there – I see some good titles though. I’m trying to picture an RV with an upstairs.

    • Margot says:

      Our RV is what’s called a Fifth Wheel. The front part of the RV is much higher and fits over the back of our truck. (That’s where it’s hooked on.) There are stairs leading up from the lower level to the “upstairs” bedroom area. When the side slides out there is plenty of room for a queen sized bed, a full length double closet and a chest of drawers and more cabinets. There is actually a pocket door that can close off the bedroom. Once inside our “house” with all of the slide-outs out, it feels very roomy. Most people are surprised once they come inside.

  2. I loved peeking into your shelves!!! I had to laugh at how crammed they were with books. I know that if the hubby and I did that I would probably kick him out of his space!! The Kindle is perfect isn’t it???

  3. Amy says:

    I was wondering about the upstairs, too. I didn’t know RVs could have them! I think it’s a fantastic idea to live in an RV and move around. Do you have a plan as to when you will stop doing the RV thing or is it open-ended? You have done a terrific job of getting a lot of books in your RV and I’m sure a Kindle is a big help.

    I was wondering what’s been on of your more favorite stops in the RV?!

    Thank you so much for sharing your shelves!

    • Margot says:

      Thanks Amy for stopping to check out my shelves. We don’t have a specific plan as to when we’ll stop RVing. We still have the itch to be on the road. We’ve slowed down quite a bit this last year and a half as we’ve been in northern California helping our son rehab a “fixer-upper” house. His house is on quite a bit of property and eventually we plan to have a “granny unit” there and retire from the road.

      Our favorite place to visit so far has been our trip up to and through Alaska. We also love the mountains and anywhere in the Rockies will always be a favorite place to go.

  4. kaye says:

    that was a lot of fun Margot. And I’m with you the kindle is perfect for people who love to collect books but don’t have the room. I loved how you described the new age of shelf snooping 🙂 Have a nice day.

  5. I love seeing your book shelves and marvel at how organised you are! Your RV sounds like a triple-decker and a wonderful home.

  6. Louise says:

    As someone who struggles with controlling my book tally whilst living in a 4 bedroom house, I truly admire your ability to cope in an RV! A fascinating peek into your shelves. Thanks Margot.

  7. stacybuckeye says:

    I am amazed at how many books you have managed to cram into your RV, Margot! I can see why you try to give them away when you’re done, you need to make room for more 🙂

  8. Julie says:

    Very very cool. I loved seeing the photos of your books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

