Who Got Paid To Read A Classic This Summer?


Image Credit

Well, here in my part of the world, summer is over. Boo. Kids are back to school. Leaves are starting to drift down off their limbs. Apple picking outings are appearing on the calendar. Football is about to take over weekends again. The weather will start staying cooler, longer. The resulting foliage will lull me into a world of beauty causing me to forget that I despise winter yet have once again forgotten to move away from snowy New England. But one other sure sign that summer is over is that with the conclusion of Labor Day weekend, The Classic Bribe Summer Reading Classics Challenge & Giveaway has ended.

Sixteen of you lovely book bloggers rose to the challenge, linking up to your reviews of classic books that you read over the summer. Between you there were 65 different books read and reviewed – with the ever popular Sense & Sensibility being covered by two different folks. The Classic genre encompasses all styles of literature. This was clearly evidenced within our challenge. I read reviews of Romance, Theology, Childrens Literature, Mystery, Biography, Christian Fiction, Fantasy, Mythology, Historical Fiction, Detective, Young Adult, Science Fiction, and Fiction in general. There were chunkster epics, novellas and short story collections mixed amongst the standard length reads. Many of you read through selections within a series. I got to learn about your reading habits, your loves and your hates. I was entertained, educated and amazed by your reviews. I read through them all and added many new-to-me titles to my to read list.

I was interested to see that the majority of the works read during this challenge were written by women. Though their roles in society and opportunities in their cultures were far less vast or encouraging than what we are accustomed to in modern times in the western world, women writers across all centuries found a way to be published, read and beloved. You go girls!

Here is a chronological list of the titles that were read and links to their reviews, if for no reason other than the fact that I like to make lists and see what they reveal.

  1. 1100’s – “Mabinogion” collected by Jeffrey Gantz 1984 (telling of historic Welsh tales)
  2. Early 1200’s – “Sundiata” retold by D.T. Niane 1965 (telling of African legend)
  3. Late 1300’s – “Showings” by Julian of Norwich
  4. 1678 – “The Pilgrim’s Progress” by John Bunyan
  5. 1811 – “Sense & Sensibility” by Jane Austen
  6. 1813 – “Pride & Prejudice” by Jane Austen
  7. 1814 – “Mansfield Park” by Jane Austen
  8. 1817 – “Northanger Abbey” by Jane Austen
  9. 1817 – “Persuasion” by Jane Austen
  10. 1849 – “Shirley” by Charlotte Bronte
  11. 1856 – “Madame Bovary” by Gustave Flaubert
  12. 1857 – “The Life of Charlotte Bronte” by Elizabeth Gaskell
  13. 1864 – “The Unknown Weapon” by Andrew Forrester (within Three Victorian Detective Novels collection)
  14. 1864 – “The Light Princess” by George MacDonald
  15. 1867 – “Miss Ravenel’s Conversion From Secession to Loyalty” by John William de Forest
  16. 1868 – “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott
  17. 1870 – “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea” by Jules Verne
  18. 1876 – “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer” by Mark Twain
  19. 1877 – “My Lady’s Money” by Wilkie Collins (within Three Victorian Detective Novels collection)
  20. 1880 – “Heidi” by Johanna Spyri
  21. 1887 – “Lady Audley’s Secret” by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
  22. 1889 – “The Master of Ballantrae” by Robert Louis Stevenson
  23. 1891 – “The Big Bow Mystery” by Israel Zangwill (within Three Victorian Detective Novels collection)
  24. 1898 – “The Turn of the Screw” by Henry James
  25. 1899 – “The Story of the Treasure Seekers” by E. Nesbit
  26. 1900 – “The Book of Dragons” by E. Nesbit
  27. 1902 – “The Hound of the Baskervilles” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  28. 1902 – “Five Children and It” by E. Nesbit
  29. 1904 – “The Phoenix and the Carpet” by E. Nesbit
  30. 1905 – “A Little Princess” by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  31. 1906 – “Story of an Amulet” by E. Nesbit
  32. 1906 – “The Railway Children” by E. Nesbit
  33. 1908 – “A Room With A View” by E.M. Forster
  34. 1911 – “Ethan Frome” by Edith Wharton
  35. 1913 – “Pollyanna” by Eleanor H. Porter
  36. 1913 – “Sons and Lovers” by D. H. Lawrence
  37. 1917 – “Summer” by Edith Wharton
  38. 1917 – “Sir Nigel” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  39. 1918 – “Kathleen” by Christopher Morley
  40. 1919 – “Rainbow Valley” by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  41. 1920 – “Further Chronicles of Avonlea” by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  42. 1921 – “Rilla of Ingleside” by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  43. 1927 – “Death Comes for the Archbishop” by Willa Cather
  44. 1927 – “The Arrow” by Christopher Morley
  45. 1928 – “The Trumpeter of Krakow” by Eric P. Kelly
  46. 1928 – “Lord Peter Views the Body” by Dorothy L. Sayers
  47. 1928 – “The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club” by Dorothy L. Sayers
  48. 1931 – “The Waves” by Virginia Woolf
  49. 1932 – “Swift Rivers” by Cornelia Meigs
  50. 1934 – “Seven Gothic Tales” by Isak Dinesan
  51. 1937 – “Their Eyes Were Watching God” by Zora Neale Hurston
  52. 1938 – “The Long Valley” by John Steinbeck
  53. 1938 – “Heidi Grows Up” by Charles Tritten
  54. 1939 – “Heidi’s Children” by Charles Tritten
  55. 1939 – “Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck
  56. 1940 – “The Name on the Bracelet” by Margaret Sutton
  57. 1941 – “My Theodosia” by Anya Seton
  58. 1942 – “Paula the Waldensian” by Eva Lacomte
  59. 1942 – “The Boxcar Children” by Gertrude Chandler Warner
  60. 1943 – “Perelandra” by C.S. Lewis
  61. 1944 – “Dragonwyck” by Anya Seton
  62. 1947 – “The Twenty One Balloons” by William Pene du Bois
  63. 1955 – “Venetia” by Georgette Heyer
  64. 1956 – “Old Yeller” by Fred Gipson
  65. 1962 – “Island” by Aldous Huxley
  66. 1967 – “From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler” by E.L. Konigsburg
  67. 1980 – “Shatterday” by Harlan Ellison

As for the winner of the $35 Amazon gift card, I conducted a highly official random drawing having my husband Andy (aka The Bumble) pick a number out of our baby Sammy’s new hat which is far too big for him.

Gratuitous Baby Photo

The numbers corresponded with the order in which the linked reviews were submitted on Mr. Linky, after weeding out the broken or incorrect links.  This year’s winner is….

BECKY @ BECKY’S BOOK REVIEWS

Specifically, for her entry of Jane Austen’s Sense & Sensibility.  It is very appropriate that Becky ended up being the winner, since she submitted more linked reviews than any other entrant – at 22 total!  So those improved odds in her favor actually paid off.  Here’s a snippet of what Becky had to say about this classic Classic:

“I loved Sense and Sensibility. I did. I wouldn’t say it was like I was reading it for the first time. Because goodness knows that when I read it the first time I was obviously not paying attention to the little things or even the not-so-little things. I suppose I was reading with a limited attention span? Or maybe I just wanted to get done quickly? I read with attention and appreciation this time. I read for pleasure. I read at my own pace. I took in each scene without rushing, without pushing. I saw just how much there was to see.”

I would like to thank all of you who joined in and hope that this challenge and giveaway encouraged you to read something you might not otherwise have picked up at this moment. I hope that you enjoyed the world of Classics and will return to them again on your own soon. I plan to host The Classic Bribe each summer right here at Quirky Girls Read. But please…don’t wait for next year before reading another.

About thebumbles

In addition to online Freelance Writing, Molly blogs about books on Quirky Girls Read and about everything else on The Bumbles Blog. Visit her often and let her know what you think! Unless you are a Yankee fan - then there might be a problem ;0)
This entry was posted in Challenges, Classics, Posts by Molly. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Who Got Paid To Read A Classic This Summer?

  1. Heather says:

    Congrats!!!! I almost got Dracula finished!!! I’ll have to plan for next summer and get some good titles…don’t know if I’ll ever be able to do Becky’s awesome 22! Wowzer! Congrats again. This was so fun!

  2. Amy says:

    Congratulations Becky! Andy and Sammy picked a much deserving winner!

    Molly, thank you for hosting the Clssic Bribe. I hope it becomes an annual challenge. I’d hoped to read more but silly me scheduled too many review books. Hopefully I’ve learned my lesson! Thank you for listing out all of the books read. It’s a wonderful list for reference and I plan to use it!

    Good to ‘see’ and hear from you. Sammy looks adorable!

  3. Eva says:

    Way to go, Becky!

    I myself definitely thought that this challenge would be a good push for me to get some of the Classics read, but that didn’t go quite like I planned.
    Great to see others got a lot read, though.

  4. kaye says:

    It was fun, we should do it again next summer 🙂 Sammy looks ready for a ball game–for sure. Congratulations to Becky.

  5. Congratulations, Becky! And dang, 22?! You definitely deserve the prize. Not just 22 books but reviews too. I definitely aspire to being such a prolific reader.

    And thank you to Quirky Girls Read for such a fun challenge. I look forward to next summer when I will actually enter a review (or two). My 12 year old daughter and I read Frankenstein the last two weeks of August but I didn’t get the review written in time. It was fun nonetheless 🙂

    We start Hamlet on Monday which, by the way, was her pick.

  6. Becky says:

    I’m so excited! I can’t find your email address to contact you–but my email address is on my blogger profile.

  7. Satia says:

    I didn’t realize that there was a “reward” for reading because I thought that the reward was reading the classics. I guess I’m a winner even though I didn’t get a gift card. Yay!

  8. stacybuckeye says:

    I was so hoping to fit Emma in but I missed the deadline. I love the list, thanks for making it. Congratulations, Becky!

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    And Sammy deserves his own comment. He is totally rocking that hat 🙂

  10. Pingback: The Classic Bribe 2012 Challenge & Giveaway – Get Paid To Read A Classic This Summer, People! |

  11. Pingback: The Classic Bribe 2012 – a fellow blogger is offering incentive to read and blog about the classics :-) | A Room of One's Own

Leave a Reply

