BBAW-book blogger love

Good morning! This week the Quirky Girls are celebrating Book Blogger Appreciation Week, and I’m the lucky quirky girl who gets to kick it off.

The prompt for today is to highlight book bloggers who have made a difference for us. And I’m so excited to have this assignment, because I have a lulu. 

Before I ever knew there was a world of book blogging, I somehow stumbled onto the incomparable Becky, of Becky’s Book Reviews.  I cannot tell you how many books I read because of Becky.  She is absolutely amazing. Her reviews are thorough and unbiased. I’ve never disliked a book that she heartily recommended. So if you haven’t yet met Becky, please, go, without delay. You’ll be very glad you did.

Another blog that I adore is Forever Young Adult. Izzybella told me about this site, and it’s absolutely delicious. Where else will you get to play the Twilight Movies drinking game, or the Harry Potter drinking game? They rate their books on several criteria, including cover appeal, bff charm (would you want to have lunch with the main character or kick her in the knees?), swoonworthy scale, dialogue, and bonus factors. Even if you never read any of the books they review, you’ll get a huge kick out of reading the reviews. And I LOVE their selection of actors to play Gale and Peeta, and wish they had been cast in the movies.

When I went to a fantasy conference about 5 years ago, I met Sarah Beth Durst. She read an excerpt from her first novel, Into the Wild, and we got to spend some time talking with her while we were all waiting to get seated at the Cheesecake Factory.  She is a lovely person, and a fantastic writer. She’s not a book blogger, per se, but she’s a writer and a blogger.

These are just a few of my favourite book bloggers. I know you have yours–please share!

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BBAW-book blogger love

  1. Trisha says:

    Ooohhh, two new-to-me blogs! Love it. Off to check them out now.

  2. kaye says:

    I love so many book blogs and book bloggers for so many different reasons that I can’t list them all, among them of course would be Molly and Margot and now Quirky girls. There is one blog however that I seem to select a good share of my reading material from, Staci at Life in the Thumb. She and I seem to enjoy many of the same books. I also love reading Jenners at Life With . . . Books. Besides writing great posts and reviews she also hosts a very challenging reading challenge every year.

    • jehara says:

      Thanks, Kaye!
      Staci has put a number of books on my list as well. I haven’t heard of Jenners so I will have to go look her up. You have intrigued me with the words “challenging reading challenge every year.”

  3. Iris says:

    I know this sounds random, but your blog is new to me and it looks so good. Plus I don’t know two of the blogs you listed, off to check them out now.

  4. Parrish says:

    another selection of blogs that I was unaware of, thanks for the introduction.

  5. I like the name of your blog! I’m a first time visitor, and the blogs you mention are new to me as well! Yay.

Leave a Reply

