Book Club Quotations

There’s a certain kind of conversation you have from time to time at parties in New York about a new book. The word “banal” sometimes rears its by-now banal head; you say “underedited,” I say “derivative.” The conversation goes around and around various literary criticisms, and by the time it moves on one thing is clear: No one read the book; we just read the reviews.

Anna Quindlen (1953 – )

About izzybella

Just trying to figure it all out.
This entry was posted in Posts by Izzy, Quotations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Club Quotations

  1. Erin says:

    *giggle* I love that cartoon!!

  2. jehara says:

    hahaha!!! that’s a funny quotATION. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    • izzybella says:

      Yeah, I confess to having done once upon a time when I ran out of time and book club was like NOW. Of course, since I’m a crap liar I wound up admitting I hadn’t read it. But I did find some good blogs that way… šŸ˜€

  3. Trisha says:

    Awesome cartoon and quote!

  4. Margot says:

    Both the cartoon and quote were hilarious and spot-on.

Leave a Reply

