Bookish Announcements

R.I.P. VI challenge badgeCarl at Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting his annual R.I.P. challenge. It starts September 1 and ends on All Hallow’s Eve.

Yes I am late to the party, but it is never too late to sign up, yes? I am committing to Peril the Second, which is reading two books for the challenge.  I LOVE this challenge. Even in the off-years where I skip out on all challenges together, I always come back to this one. I have a soft spot for autumn. I adore Halloween. I love the idea of getting into the spirit of the season through reading and this challenge excels at that.

Rhinoa and I will be continuing our tradition of reading a book together during Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon. This time we have decided to up the ante. Our book will also be for the R.I.P. challenge. The book in question: Melissa Marr’s Graveminder.  I am not sure what my second book will be. I am considering The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. I am also thinking about re-reading Her Fearful Symmetry.

Dewey's 24 hour read-a-thon badgeMark your calendars! Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon is coming up soon. October 22 to be exact. This is my FAVORITE book blogging event EVAR. I get crazily excited about it.  I love knowing that there are loads of people reading all day around the world. We are connected from one point (the 24 hour readathon site) and spiral outwards in multiple directions to varying locations. We are reading, commenting, participating in fun activities together.

It is this strong sense of community that pulls me back every time. Sure I could spend all day on any given weekend reading, but I won’t. There is too much to do and I would probably feel guilty. However, Dewey’s readathon is a sacred time in my household. It is two days a year where I gleefully shun everything else and devote myself to a pile of books, snacks, and connecting to other readers.

I don’t interrupt my time for anything or anyone. I wake up before the official start time so I can get everything set up. I track, I post, I read, I cheerlead. I freaking LOVE IT.

Signups are up now. I highly encourage you try it if you’ve never participated before.

What are you waiting for? Go now!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

This entry was posted in Challenges, Posts by Jehara and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bookish Announcements

  1. Nikki-ann says:

    I hope you enjoy Melissa Marr’s Graveminder. it’s currently on my wishlist and I’ve read great things about it 🙂

  2. Thanks for linking to the Readathon! We hope everyone will come give it a try – it’s such a fun thing to do :o)

  3. Erin says:

    Oh oh oh oh I’m so excited for the Readathon!!! It’s one of my favorite events, too. I love how it combines reading and blogging and socializing all into one crazy chunk of 24 hours. Yaaaaay!

  4. Michelle says:

    I am still undecided on the readathon. I probably should just sign up, even though I know I cannot devote an entire 24 hours to reading like I would prefer. GRAVEMINDER is a fantastic book, a great readathon read, and perfect for RIP.

    • jehara says:

      Even if you can’t participate in the whole day, you could still take part in the time you do have available. There are a lot of people who don’t participate in the whole day. 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I’m excited to read Graveminder!!!!

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I love the read a thon! I just asked my mother if she would come help Jason with Gage that weekend so I could lose myself in books and blogging. Moms need breaks and this is a perfect one!

  6. Kimberly says:

    Read-a-thon!!! Wooooo!!!!

Leave a Reply

