Book Review: Sacred Evil

Sacred Evil by Heather Graham: Book CoverTitle: Sacred Evil

Author: Heather Graham

Publisher: Mira

Copyright: July 2011

# of Pages: 247 (Nook Edition)

Reason for Reading: I like a good suspense, and enjoy paranormal suspense when it’s done well, and it was cheap. I really like cheap, when cheap is also good.

Grade: C

“You know, Jude,” he said, “that I’m one of those armchair detectives, always trying to study the newest on the Ripper case. I swear, it was almost as if the killer had an old autopsy diagram of Annie Chapman on him when he killed and mutilated this woman.”

Someone in New York City seems determined to recreate the heinous crimes of Jack the Ripper. Despite the boasts of modern forensics investigators, and despite the tremendous advances made in forensic technology, the crew working these murders seem to be doing no better now than the London police did in Whitechapel all thsoe years ago.

But never fear–a special FBI unit known for its unorthodox ways and special talents has been called in to save the day. And save the day they do.  Jude, the suffering NYPD detective, is paired with with the exquisitely beautiful Whitney. Things are a little stiff at first (no pun intended), but they end up being greatly stiff (pun definitely intended) as Jude and Whitney’s relationship moves beyond a work relationship.

What I Liked: I liked the story okayish, although I found it very formulaic.  There has to be something I liked, because I did end up purchasing and reading the other 3 books in this series by Graham. I think, though, that what I liked the most was the potential for this to be a good book.

What I Didn’t Like:  I found how much time the protagonists spend thinking about how much they want to have sex with each other very annoying.  I loathed the obligatory sex scenes. I really don’t care to read sex scenes, which meant that I had to flip past several pages in the book. I hate how everyone is absolutely wicked beautiful. I knew whodunnit from the beginning, although Graham took a circuitous route to get to where Jude and Whitney also knew whodunnit.

I have read more of Graham’s books, and find them all to be similarly afflicted. She has so much potential, but I think she falls short nearly all the time.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, paranormal, Posts by Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Sacred Evil

  1. Gwen says:

    “and it was cheap. I really like cheap, when cheap is also good.” I am with you there!

    I have this one, haven’t gotten to it though. There are times that I like/need a good formulaic easy read so I will save it for one of those times.

  2. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    I haven’t been able to read much of this author either for the same reasons – just doesn’t work for me
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

Leave a Reply

