Review: Brave New World

Book Title: Brave New World
Author: Aldous Huxley
Original Publication Date: 1932
Edition Read:
Harper Perennial Modern Classics, 1998
Total Pages:
268
Genre:
Classic Sci-Fi
Reason Read:
Read with a group on Goodreads
Rating:
3 out of 5 Stars

“And if ever, by some unlucky chance, anything unpleasant should somehow happen, why, there’s always soma to give you a holiday from the facts. And there’s always soma to calm your anger, to reconcile you to your enemies, to make you patient and long-suffering. In the past you could only accomplish these things by making a great effort and after years of hard moral training. Now, you swallow two or three half-gramme tablets, and there you are. Anybody can be virtuous now. You can carry at least half your morality about in a bottle. Christianity without tears—that’s what soma is.” ~ Chapter 17

Brave New World is not my typical book of choice. Sci-fi/futuristic/dystopian. But it is also a Classic and since a Goodreads group I belong to voted to read it for discussion, I stepped outside of my reading box.

It took a while for the story to draw me in – facts of the world in the future were presented without any characters sharing the frame of mind the reader would have about the wrongness of the way things had developed. And then the middle part seemed to be way more concerned with debauchery, though we slowly were introduced to our heroic character to pull for. And then in the end, this character spoke for us, and this was when I enjoyed things the most.

Brave New World appears to be an examination of what happens when mankind gets so concerned with stability that the government controls the perception of happiness and progress. There is no free will or independent thinking – but no one cares or is upset by this because they are bred/manufactured to serve a specific role and are conditioned from conception to accept it and nothing more. Genetic slavery – without all the emotion.

When a “Savage” (born of a civilized woman who became lost in the restricted Native sections still left in the world) is discovered and brought into civilization for research and examination, his voice is the only one of dissent and horror. So through him the author, Huxley, espouses on politics, religion, sexuality, and the true meaning of happiness – freedom of personal choice. These passages are written wonderfully and provide plenty of food for thought.

The book was written in 1931 and it does not come across as out of touch or too dated. It is more powerful because of how believable a version of such a terrible false utopia could actually occur someday.

All in all, an interesting and disturbing journey through the de-volution of humanity. 4.5 stars for the last third – only 3 for the first two thirds. Overall a 3 – but with more involved analysis of the themes, I may improve that rating.

About thebumbles

In addition to online Freelance Writing, Molly blogs about books on Quirky Girls Read and about everything else on The Bumbles Blog. Visit her often and let her know what you think! Unless you are a Yankee fan - then there might be a problem ;0)
This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction, Posts by Molly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Brave New World

  1. jehara says:

    Yay for getting outside your reading comfort zone! 🙂
    I remember reading this for my senior AP English class. I really loved it. I remember being a little confused at first though by soma and some other aspects of society presented in the books. But by the end I was sold. I don’t believe I have read it since then. This would be good for a re-read.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I loved this book; it blew me away the first time I read it (IB English class junior year). I think I’ve read it since, but it’s been a while. Glad to see that it’s still making the rounds.

  3. Trisha says:

    I really enjoyed this book when I read it, and I still think about the themes present. Then again, I read it for the theme specifically. 🙂

  4. Margot says:

    This book was assigned reading in a college course I took. I read it quickly, enough to meet the basic requirements. At the time I didn’t get it, and I don’t recall any discussion in class. I’ve spent the intervening years thinking this was a weird way to look at the world. I’ve avoided all science fiction and dystopian literature ever since. Now you come along and make it sound rather interesting. I may want to take another look. You point out some interesting concepts.

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I tried to listen to this one last year and didn’t make it very far before I abandoned it. I hope to give it another shot someday, but it won’t be anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

