Review: Bloodlines

Book Cover: Bloodlines by Richelle MeadName of Book: Bloodlines
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill (a part of Penguin group)
Copyright Date: 2011
Number of Pages: 421
Format: YA fiction, paranormal
Reason for Reading: I have morphed into a VA fangirl
Rating:B

I am going to let you in on a little secret.

I had the date circled on my calendar when this book was due to be released. I was frustrated because both the Borders and Barnes and Noble in my area have closed down recently. I don’t know of any other bookstores outside of Half-Price around without driving to the ‘burbs or the next city over. This book came out three days before I left for my UK adventure. I didn’t really need it right then, now did I? No. . .

However, I did warn B that if I saw that book in the airport I was definitely purchasing it. It was spotted, purchased, and stuffed into my backpack despite the limited space. (Not to mention I already had my travel guide, Rhinoa’s books I was bringing as an early birthday gift, and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. And I came home with even more books as she gifted me books as a late birthday present and I bought a couple of more books as souvenirs.)

I tell you this not to highlight my issues (um, I have no willpower?) but to show you how much I wanted to read this book.  As you may remember I finished Vampire Academy not too long before Bloodlines was scheduled to be released. It has been a long time since I have been so rabid for book release.

I am a book addict, and I needed my VA fix.

So. We catch up with Sydney the Alchemist shortly after the debacle at the end of the series. She is in some serious trouble; however, she does get chosen for a high profile project, despite the better judgment of some. She is to accompany Lissa Dragomir’s long-lost sister into hiding. The new princess’s life is in danger and she needs hardcore protection.  Sydney is to leave her family and head to Palm Springs,  CA.  Sydney finds herself bogged down juggling her duties to the princess and investigating the tattoo shop handing out blood-laced tattoos for a hefty price.

It was delicious being in Sydney’s head. She is a funny character. She is very prim and proper. She is very attached to rules and how things should be done, yet in spite of herself she is stubborn and has her rebellious moments. When she believes deeply in something she will do what she must.  In short, she is the opposite of Rose, and yet her shadow self mirrors Rose quite a bit.  Having been in Rose’s viewpoint for six books, it is refreshing and interesting seeing the world of VA from Sydney’s human, Alchemist perspective.

Now I have to gush about the return of Adrian.  I ❤ Dimitri and I ❤ Adrian equally. (Yes, I have become a VA fangirl since I cracked open the first book.) And having lots and lots of Adrian and his reckless, humorous self in Bloodlines really made this book for me. Every time he crossed the page, I may have swooned just a bit. His presence crackles and makes everything so much more interesting.

The first installment was quite enjoyable. It provides a good springboard for the rest of the series. If it is anything like VA, the books will only get better and better.

Stay tuned: Second installment coming (not-so) soon-June 2012.

This entry was posted in Fiction, paranormal, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Bloodlines

  1. You crack me up 😀 We’re all a bit addicted to something aren’t we?? I have a friend that loves this author too!!

  2. izzybella says:

    I haven’t read this yet, but I definitely want to, especially now that I know Adrian factors in! Love that character-so complex.

    • jehara says:

      I’m more than happy to lend it to you. It just may be a while as I am pretty horrible about getting to the post office in any sort of timely fashion.

  3. Pingback: Izzybella Remembers 2011 (or We Owe It All to Jehara) |

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow |

Leave a Reply

