First Chapter, First Paragraph

Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea asks us to share the first paragraph of a book we are reading. As you can see it’s called First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday. As readers we are often captivated or turned away by that first paragraph or two. Let’s see what you think about the first paragraph of my current read.

Elizabeth Strout won the Pulitzer Prize for Literature for Olive Kitteridge. It’s the story of a woman living in a small town in Maine. In the first chapter we meet Olive’s husband, Henry.

For many years Henry Kitteridge was a pharmacist in the next town over, driving every morning on snowy roads, or rainy roads, or summer-time roads, when the wild raspberries shot their new growth in brambles along the last section of town before he turned off to where the wider road led to the pharmacy. Retired now, he still wakes early and remembers how mornings used to be his favorite, as though the world were his secret, tires rumbling softly beneath him and the light emerging through the early fog, the brief sight of the bay off to his right, then the pines, tall and slender, and almost always he rode with the window partly open because he loved the smell of the pines and the heavy salt air, and in the winter he loved the smell of the cold.

What do you think? Does it capture you? Would you keep reading? Have you read this book already? If so, what did you think of it?

For more First Paragraphs, be sure to visit Diane.

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph

  1. I love the descriptions! I’ve been wanting to read this one, and now you’ve really won me over with this beginning.

    Here’s MY TEASER TUESDAY POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  2. Amy says:

    Beautiful writing in this paragraph. I would definitely pick up this book and continue reading. Olive Kitteridge is one of the books I hope to read soon as its been on my radar for too long. I hope you enjoy it, Margot

  3. Kay says:

    I have meant to read this book for a long time. Yes, it would entice me. Thanks for sharing it, Margot.

  4. Margot, that really appealed to me, and I must say that since I HAVE read this book, the entire book, IMO, is just as good as that descriptive intro. enjoy and thanks so much for playing along.

  5. Nise' says:

    I read this book and did not love it as much as others. I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

