Announcements, Reminders, A Question

badge for blogging event Reclaim Your ReaderMolly is hosting Reclaim Your Reader over at her blog, The Bumbles. The gist? Take a break from writing for a week (Nov 14-18) and go visit all of your bloggy friends. And you know how Molly likes a good bribe. Participants will be entered into a prize drawing for a $25 Amazon gift card. To learn more, visit the dedicated page.

House of Night book covers for Marked, Betrayed, and ChosenIn honor of the newest House of Night release, Izzy and I have declared October House of Night month. Well, the remainder of it, anyway. So for the next two weeks we will be geeking out on all things House of Night. What you can expect? An Izzy-Jehara chat about the series as a whole, our thoughts on the companion book Nyx, and of course a double review of the new book Destined.

Dewey's 24 hour read-a-thon badgeHere is your friendly reminder that Dewey’s Read-a-thon is NEXT WEEK!!! Squee!!!! One week from tomorrow loads of readers across the globe will be hunkering down in their pajamas (okay that may just be me) for a solid day of reading, snacking, and blogging.  We will be participating in full over here at QGR. We will be hosting two mini-challenges, cheerleading and reading. And!!! I even have a friend coming over to read with me!!!  This will be my sixth time participating and it’s always been a solo affair for me. I’ve always liked the idea of doing the read-a-thon with a friend, but so far, it just hasn’t happened. I am stoked to have someone to share it with in the physical realm, in addition to the virtual one. Woot!!!!

If you haven’t signed up, there’s still time!!

That sums up the announcements and reminders. I do have a question for you, though. I have been toying around with an idea for a while now. For the last several months I’ve made a point to bookmark actual reviews I read of books that I now want to read. My initial thought was if I ever get around to reading that book I’d like to be able to link to the original review for my reason for reading. Then I started thinking that I needed to make time for this as there are a lot of books I want to read off of review recommendations, but I don’t believe I am reading enough of them. So. I thought what if I make it a monthly feature and invite other bloggers to tackle those particular books off of their to read lists along with me? It’s one book a month. Also, I like the idea of us reading each other’s books and sharing them on our blogs.  Spreading the love and showing some blogger appreciation, yes? Thoughts?

On that note, I hope you all have a delicious, relaxing weekend, enjoying some autumn love.*

*Autumn is such a tease in the desert. Last weekend was beautiful and crisp. But this week? Back in the hundreds. In October. This is my third autumn here and I am still not used to it. Cry face.

This entry was posted in housekeeping, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Announcements, Reminders, A Question

  1. Erin says:

    I like the Reclaim Your Reader idea but have at least one post that has to be written and posted that week (Reading Buddies!), so I can’t participate officially, sadly. And I haven’t read the House of Night books (not really my style).

    BUT! The Readathon!! Yeah!!! You bet I’ll be in my pajamas. What is the point in getting dressed if you’re just going to read all day? (Ok, I might get dressed for my audiobook/walk break…we’ll see 😉 ) I’ve always (and by always, I mean for the past year, as long as I’ve been doing readathons) wanted someone to do it with me, in person. No one I know is willing to take the plunge. Have fun with your friend!!

    As for the new feature, I think that’s a great idea. Especially if you make it a monthly event and not a challenge! (I run screaming from challenges…they stress me out.) I’d like to get to more of those books, too.

    • jehara says:

      Oh yes. Definitely not a challenge. I would like it to be more of an ongoing thing. Sort of like a meme but not on a weekly basis. I think once a week would be asking too much.

  2. Margot says:

    I like that so many things are going on. Lots of things to look forward to. I’m a big fan of the Read-A-Thon. Happy Reading to all.

  3. Trisha says:

    I like the idea of featuring a book a month recommended by a blogger. I tried to get organized on that front at the beginning of the year, then I totally slacked off, and now I’m trying once again, so maybe this will help me out! 🙂

  4. izzybella says:

    I love the idea of a monthly guest blogger tackling a personal TBR. More scope for the imagination and lots of new people to meet. SWEET!

    • jehara says:

      I am thinking more along the lines of having a Mr. Linky so everyone that wants to can participate. People link their reviews to our post and we go visit. Like a meme but not on a weekly basis.

  5. I love the Reclaim Your Reader idea (and the button). I’ll have to think about participating!

  6. stacybuckeye says:

    I’m really looking forward to the read-a-thon. 24 hours just for me an my favorite activity!
    Wish I could do the Reclaim your Reader officially but have my weekly quiz to post. I like the idea of it though!
    I like your idea and look forward to seeing how it will work exactly.

Leave a Reply

