The Readathon: How do you prepare?

Dewey's 24 hour read-a-thon badgeTwo more days and it will be here!!!! Woot!!!! (You can still sign up if you haven’t already.)

Um, if you can’t tell, I am pretty d*mn excited. This is my favorite blogging event of the year. Lucky for me, it comes around not once, but twice in said year. Double squee!!!!

I have been participating for a few years now, thus I have gotten somewhat of a preparation down.

1. Go to library to check out stacks of books that cannot all possibly be read in one day. What can I say? I like a pool to choose from because I am moody like that. Also, I usually do this a few weeks too early and wind up having to renew said books before the readathon day.

2. Decide on snacks!!! Part of the fun of readathonning (for me anyway) is the the assortment of tasty snacks supplanting actual meals. I like to have everything purchased and prepared beforehand. That way I can be at maximum laziness on the day of.

3. Stake out reading places.Β  Numero uno reading spot is my comfy red couch. However, I do like to have other spots in mind for when my body gets restless. I also like to entertain the notion of leaving my house and chilling with my books at one of the nearby within-five-minutes-walking-distance coffeeshops. But I think I have let that notion go this time around. Because who am I kidding? I never leave the house. It’s too much of a hassle to lug the computer around. Also, my couch is way more comfortable. πŸ˜‰

Other reading spots are the bed, the bathtub, floor cushions, and the wall (so I can take viparita).

4. Plan a readalong with my friend, Rhinoa.

5. Try to find a reading partner. I think it would be fun to have a friend come over and read with me. However, this usually doesn’t happen. But! This year one of book club friends will be joining me. Yay!!!!

Will you be participating in Dewey’s 24 hour readathon? If so, how do you prepare?

 

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Readathon: How do you prepare?

  1. Kimberly says:

    Funny you should post this today . . . my head just hit the pillow last night and my eyes snapped open. ACK! The read-a-thon is on Saturday! I have to get more books!!!! I have to figure out where I’m going to plop myself! I have to go to the grocery store! So tomorrow will be full of prepping.

  2. Kailana says:

    I won’t be around very much, but I hope you have lots of fun!

  3. I have my snacks all sorted, and right now I’m dithering over what to read. I go to my parents’ place for the weekend of, so I have to bring the books WITH me. What to pack, what to pack? I can plan on knocking thru 4ish books I think, but WHICH 4? I will likely pack 9 or 10 cause, like you, I am moody about what I read.

  4. Margot says:

    This is one of my favorite events too. I do pretty much the same preparations with a couple of changes: In my book selection I try to get some short or easy books for the hours when my brain is going numb. Those are usually children’s books or graphic novels. I also put an audiobook on my ipod so I can get outside. walk around, and give my butt a break. Preparing food is another favorite part of the Read-A-Thon. I usually put something in the slow cooker the night before and load up on crunchy munchies. I find the crunch works good in my head. Have fun Saturday and Happy Reading.

    • jehara says:

      I like to have graphic novels in the mix for the wee hours too. Also, the wee hours is my favorite time to cheerlead as I am too sleepy to focus on reading. Izzybella lent me some manga in July that I need to get to so I didn’t check any manga out this time around to limit my options. πŸ™‚
      You’re lucky you can take a walk for a break. It will still be around a hundred this weekend so I will be living it up indoors sitting on my bum and taking some yoga breaks. But! I can listen to audio whilst doing yoga. Hadn’t thought of that. So, thank you for that. πŸ™‚

  5. stacybuckeye says:

    I’ve signed up πŸ™‚ I’m going to try for the whole 24 hours. In my humble opinion, audio books are crucial for those early morning (think 4 am) times when your eyes can’t take it anymore!
    With a baby in the house I plan on quite a few hours spent reading at the coffee shop!
    See you tomorrow!

    • jehara says:

      I like to start with the audiobooks as my readathon start time is 5am. The first time I tried audiobooks I only had one so I didn’t have any when we cycled back through to the wee hours at the end. Usually during those hours I am cheering and reading graphic novels. However, this time around, I may try the audiobooks as I picked up quite a few. Great suggestion! I’m glad you can participate. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Readathon: hour 3-5 |

Leave a Reply

