Readathon: hour 6-12

Readathon ButtonMinutes Spent Reading This Hour: 240
Total Minutes Spent Reading: 540
Books Read This Hour: Graveminder
Books Completed: 0
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 15
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 60
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 15
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 90
Total Pages Read: 3.5 discs of The Adoration of Jenna Fox, 50% of Graveminder on the Kindle
Items Consumed: one peanut butter chip pumpkin muffin, one chocolate chip pumpkin muffin, chips and guac, kettle corn, two cups of peppermint tea, one juice box
It has been a glorious six hours. I took a little break to have a chat with one of my besties. My bookclub friend came over and she helped me get some shots I need for my mini-challenge this evening. We chatted and made snack plates and then we got down to the serious business of reading. We did good reading straight through without distracting each other. I’d say every hour we took a few minutes to stop and chat about our books. Overall, it was a lovely afternoon of noshing and reading.
Mid-event Survey
1. What are you reading right now? Graveminder by Melissa Marr

2. How many books have you read so far? I have read two, but I haven’t finished either one yet.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I am looking forward to finishing Graveminder and listening to the last bit of Jenna Fox.

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Only to let my husband know that I would be holed up all day with the books. πŸ™‚

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I haven’t really had any interruptions outside of hunger. I spent the morning being productive, but I was listening to an audiobook the whole time so that wasn’t really a distraction.

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? It always surprises me how quickly it flies by. Also, how much of a distraction Twitter is proving to be. πŸ˜‰

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I can’t think of anything at the moment.

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Hmm. I am seriously lacking in answers right now.

9. Are you getting tired yet? Surprisingly, no.

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I am really discovering how useful audiobooks are proving to be. I was up and about most of the morning, which I think has really helped my energy levels as I haven’t been sitting on my bum for twelve hours, only about six. πŸ˜‰

photo of reading buddyphoto of jehara and reading buddy

picture proof of my bookclub reading buddy.

This entry was posted in Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Readathon: hour 6-12

  1. Kimberly says:

    Reading buddy = awesomesauce.

  2. Love the pictures! And now I’m thinking that audio books might help me decide to do this next time. I haven’t been a fan of audio, but I can see how being able to walk around would help.

    Love that couch!

  3. Darlene says:

    I think the audiobooks are a great idea for part of the time. How awesome that your book club buddy came to read for a while.

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    I think it’s so great that you had a reading buddy today! I should ask a friend to join me next time. Well, at least for part of the time. I don’t have a friend crazy enough to do the whole 24.

  5. Margot says:

    It’s obvious you are having such a good time. Keep on going.

Leave a Reply

