RIP Challenge: Book 3/Don’t Scream

Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the RIP Challenge again this year, and I have boldly chosen to accept this challenge. I always mean to, and I think I always end up reading the books, but never seem to get around to doing the reviews. Shame, shame!

Don't Scream by Wendy Corsi Staub: NOOK Book CoverTitle: Don’t Scream

Author: Wendy Corsi Staub

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp

Copyright: ebook May 1, 2007

Number of Pages: 338 (nook edition)

Reason for Reading: I read the Lily Dale series by Staub several years ago, and liked them reasonably well.

Grade: D

“Shhh!” Standing absolutely still, afraid to breathe, Brynn listens intently.

They all do.

There is nothing.

Nothing but the crickets, the creek, a gust stirring the leaves overhead. Just like before.

After a long, tense moment, Cassie says, “I don’t hear anything, Brynn.”

Brynn doesn’t either. Not now.

But someone is there.

She can feel it.

Someone is lurking in the shadows among the trees, listening.

Perhaps even watching…

And recognizing.

Formulaic at best, this book tells of a group of sorority women who conspired to cover up a death. Not a murder–it was an accidental death–but there was underage drinking involved, so they would have gotten in trouble. According to formula, at least one of the girls wanted to fess up but was overruled by the others.

Now it’s ten years later, and they’re getting letters from the dead girl, and each woman is being brutally and bloodily murdered on her birthday.

Okay. For another author, I might have given this a C. The reason Staub gets a D for this is because I’ve read some of her other work. She’s capable of so much more. (Yes, I’m one of those teachers. Or would be, if I taught.)  The characterization is not bad, but it’s just so terribly formulaic. I saw a movie with the very same premise a couple of years ago (and yes, the movie got a D from me as well).  It was not good.  Lots and lots of blood, lots of tension, lots of people arguing and trying to conceal things. And yes, I definitely figured out who the murderer was way, way, way before any of the other characters did. It seriously ticked me off.

Because I have read much better books by Staub, I am going to give her another shot. I think I like her paranormal far better than her thrillers, if this is representative of the thrillers.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Fiction, Posts by Faith, thriller and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

