Book Review: The Dead Celebrity Cookbook

The Dead Celebrity Cookbook: A Resurrection of Recipes from More Than 145 Stars of Stage and ScreenTitle: The Dead Celebrity Cookbook

Author: Frank DeCaro

Publisher: Health Communications, Inc.

Copyright: 2011

Number of Pages: 558 (nook edition)

Reason for Reading: Love cookbooks, and this seemed like it was worth a read

Grade: A

“I miss those days when celebrities still had mystery about them, and a glimpse inside their radar ranges seemed, for any fan, like a window into a world of glamour and excitement, which is why I put together this book. For decades, I’ve wanted others to share my fantasy of feasting on Frank Sinatra’s Barbecued Lamb, lunching on Lucille Ball’s Chinese-y Thing, diving ever-so-neatly into Joan Crawford’s Poached Salmon, and wrapping my lips around Rock Hudson’s Cannoli. Really, who hasn’t fantasized about that?”

DeCaro takes his fascination with these celebrities a step farther than perhaps most of us ever think to do, and shares a recipe for each celebrity along with a little dish on the celebrities. Some of the recipes I find completely repugnant (one calls for beef heart) and others a little bland and uninteresting, but then there are those that I want to try out right now!  Fortunately it’s not just about the recipes. I love the gossipy tidbits of information.

There’s only one thing I had a problem with, and I’m not sure if it’s how the book itself is set up or if it’s just how it translated to nook format: the directions for each recipe precede the ingredients list. I found it difficult to read because of that. So if I’m going to make any of these recipes, I’d have to get all of the ingredients into little prep dishes and then read the directions. It’s distracting.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Posts by Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Dead Celebrity Cookbook

  1. stacybuckeye says:

    “wrapping my lips around Rock Hudson’s Cannoli” Definitely makes me want to take a look at this one 🙂

  2. Mmmmm….Rock Hudson’s cannoli. Huh? Where was I? Oh, yeah. Thank you for visiting & commenting! Definitely give the book a read. I think you’d like it.

Leave a Reply

