Review: Remember Me? (audiobook)

Book Cover: Remember Me? by Sophie KinsellaName of Book: Remember Me? (audiobook)
By: Sophie Kinsella
Publisher: The Dial Press
Copyright Date: 2008
Number of Pages: six discs
Format: fiction
Reason for Reading: was looking for an audiobook and it caught my eye on the library shelf
Rating: B+

 The Gist:

Lexi Smart is having a dismal day. She is the only one in her department not to receive an end-of-year bonus, her boyfriend, Loser Dave, has stood her up, and her dad just died. Not to mention she can’t even properly hail a taxi.

The next day, Lexi  wakes in hospital to find that she no longer has snaggle teeth, her body is quite fit, and her hair is long and glossy. She finds that she is married to a millionaire and she is now boss lady of her department.  To her horror, she discovers that it is not the next day, but three years later. She can’t remember a thing about the last three years. She still thinks she is twenty-five and in her twenty-five year old predicaments. However, Lexi is in for several surprises as she attempts to navigate this new life she finds herself in.

 My Thoughts:

I’ve read one other Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess. Her story premises seem a bit preposterous; however, they are pure delight and humorous. I gladly suspend my disbelief and sink into an amusing, enjoyable time. There are plenty of cringe-worthy embarrassing moments for the main character, not to mention laugh out loud moments.

I was just as curious as Lexi to find out how her life had changed so drastically and why she herself had seemed to change as well, based off the way people were treating her now. Lexi doesn’t recognize who she is supposed to be at twenty-eight.

In Kinsella’s author’s note, she states:

Another theme I wanted to explore was identity, which I’ve always found fascinating. Our lives take unpredictable turns and we all change over time. But it’s so gradual we don’t always notice it. Would your younger self recognize your older self? Put another way, if you woke up tomorrow in the year 2011… what would you find?

Obviously the note was written before 2011. So let’s say, what if you woke up tomorrow and you were thrust into your life in 2014, with no memory of the years in between now and this new year? I find the question to be so fascinating and intriguing. We do change and grow and our lives mirror that, but we are always known to ourselves more or less. But if the change wasn’t gradual, would we recognize who we had become? Would we even like ourselves? Furthermore, if we can’t remember our present circumstances, how does that affect our identity? How does that affect how we relate to others and the world around us?

Kinsella slyly addresses these questions in her humor soaked story. Kinsella writes a confection of a story that surprises with the substance lurking beneath the lightness.

I appreciated the characterization of Lexi’s husband, Eric.  He comes across as a bit of a dolt, but there is no doubt that he genuinely loves Lexi. His character could have easily come across as a jerk. We are eased into his idiosyncrasies and slowly the state of the marriage is revealed.

The Audio:

This was my first listening experience of Rosalyn Landor and I am now a huge fan.  I’ve already checked out more audiobooks narrated by her. She really brought the story to life vividly. She had different voices for each of the characters and captured the emotional nuances perfectly. I have enjoyed Kinsella in print before; however, I am convinced I enjoyed this story so much more because I listened to it, rather than read it. I loved being able to hear the British accent. I adored her characterizations. I loved her Lexi. I loved the energy she brought to the story. Overall, this was a fun listening experience.

 Last Word:

A fun, comical story full of busting-out-with-laughter moments with substance lurking beneath the humor and escapist fun.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Posts by Jehara and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Remember Me? (audiobook)

  1. Margot says:

    I love the idea of this story. I can suspend belief for a time while the author takes me through the idea of change in a character. I’d prefer a longer time period than three years, but I guess, if you’re in your twenties, three years is a long time. I’m not convinced people change that much. I’ll have to read this one and see what happens.

    • jehara says:

      By the time you get to the end, it makes sense why all the changes have occurred. And I can say, that when something tragic occurs in one’s life, it definitely can provide a wake up call and a reassessment of one’s life. I highly recommend listening to it. Rosalyn Landor is gold.

  2. mugwhump says:

    I liked that book as a read, but never thought of trying it in audio. A great book for audio is “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”. To hear the wonderful lilting Voice flipping from one moment of pretty things to the next moment of the Bennett sister being Ninja warriors was a hoot. It kept and caught my attention fully!

Leave a Reply

