First Chapter First Paragraph: The Territory

Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea asks us to share the first paragraph of a book we are reading. As you can see it’s called First Chapter, First Paragraph Tuesday Intros. As readers we are often captivated or turned away by that first paragraph or two. Let’s see what you think about the first paragraph of my current read.

The Territory by Tricia Fields is an interesting read about a female police chief in a small Texas border town. The book won the Tony Hillerman Prize. I’m almost done with the book and I hope to tell you about it on Thursday. It grabbed me from the beginning.

Chief Josie Gray sighted dow the rifle scope at two black sedans prowling the empty streets of Piedra Labrada. She was posted atop a fifty-foot-high watchtower, looking across the Rio Grande into a two-block area of squalid bars. For forty-five minutes, Josie had listened to gunfire coming from inside the Garra del Tigre, one of the five bars on the strip, but there had been no movement until the sedans came into view. The watchtower, used jointly by Border Patrol and local police, stood on the U.S. side of the river, just a quarter mile from downtown Piedra. From her vantage point, Josie could see an access road that followed the Rio, then a half dozen blocks of factories fanning out from the collection of bars situated directly south of the tower. She lowered her rifle, slowly scanning the area for a reaction to the cars. Something was about to open up.

 What do you think? Would you keep reading?

About Margot

I'm also known as Joyfully Retired. I love to talk. I love to talk about books I've read, movies I've seen, places I've traveled to, people (especially my children and grandchildren), and Food. On the Quirky Girls Read blog I'm trying to read all the books that have won the major awards and then, of course, talk about them.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Margot. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Chapter First Paragraph: The Territory

  1. That intro provides for quite a suspense build up, so I’m guessing I would read more, especially since it sounds like you were enjoying it. Thanks for joining in Margot.

  2. jennygirl says:

    You know I think I would. What’s her story and what’s about to happen. You always have good first paragraphs.

  3. I can foresee lots of excitement in the ensuing pages. Thanks for sharing!

    Here’s MY TT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. JoAnn says:

    I’m undecided. Sounds like it might be a little violent? I’d be more inclined to keep reading since you’re enjoying it.

  5. Nise' says:

    I would keep reading.

  6. Yes, I would read. Sounds good and gritty and I’m intrigued by the female police chief.

Leave a Reply

