Seasonal Reading: Do You Partake?

Photo: mug of hot chocolate, Bay by the Sea restaurant, Lyme Regis, UK

Autumn never quite arrived, but winter has descended early and brutally (for the desert). It was wet, rain, and very cold all weekend. It has been cold and gray all week. I have grown accustomed to winter that isn’t really winter since I moved here, so the past several days have been a bit of a shock to my system. I do not want to wake in the morning. I do not want to move when I get home. My motivation for nearly everything is shot.  However, this is the perfect weather for snuggling up in blanket on the couch with a hot cup of tea, which I usually do when I get home.

Currently I am on a historical fiction kick. Ever since reading Becoming Marie Antoinette, I have been getting reacquainted with my passion for the Tudors. I have listened to Alison Weir’s The Lady Elizabeth and Innocent Traitor. I recently checked out Weir’s The Captive Queen. I know nothing about it so I may be moving out of Tudor territory. I am enjoying them very much, and the historic setting in cold climes does have me grateful for modern amenities.

However, yesterday I was thinking about winter books. More specifically, what types of books are conducive to being curled up whilst trying to stay warm? I am not really a seasonal reader save for Carl’s R.I.P. challenge. I like paranormal all year round, but it is especially fun to pick out spooky, ghostly stories for the autumn challenge.

Does one read summer books to vicariously live in warm weather? (I tried that my first hellaciously hot summer here with a winter book.) Does one read chunksters to fill the evenings? Or does one revel in it and read a book set in cold climes?

How about you, dear friends? Are you a seasonal reader? If so, do you have any wintry recommendations?

Personal photo: a mug of hot chocolate enjoyed in Lyme Regis, UK.

This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Jehara. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seasonal Reading: Do You Partake?

  1. I live in Florida, so I’ve never really thought about seasonal anything. I just keep plugging away at my books in whatever order they happen to fall. The only exception: I love reading baseball-themed books in the spring and summer.

    Stay warm!

    • jehara says:

      I think I like seasonal reading in autumn is because I live in a climate that doesn’t see the appropriate weather expected in September/October. Dealing with 100+ temps well into October does not feel like autumn, thus reading spooky books puts me into the fall spirit. I like your baseball theme for spring and summer. Does that heighten your sense of the season?

  2. I do like to read Christmas stories, occasionally, in the winter. But usually I just devour whatever books fall into my current passion.

  3. izzybella says:

    Okay, first that hot chocolate looks divine and methinks I must go asap to Mimi’s for their hot chocolate, which is sweet, sweet nectar.

    Second, nah, I’m not really a seasonal reader, though I find it difficult to read beachy books in the winter. By beachy books, I mean utter trash that is only acceptable to read if you are on a cruise ship or a really sunny beach where no one expects you to be reading heavy material. And for as much trash as I read year-round, anyway, you know that’s some trashy-trash.

  4. Heather says:

    I can’t quite bring myself to do seasonal reads except, like you said, for Halloween. I usually do a zombie kick and vampire kick during September and October, but after that, I just like to go with my moods. I got some yummy Vanilla chai tea latte today. Yup, divine!

  5. Sarah says:

    I’m not really big on Christmas beyond the cookies, deserts and presents. So I don’t read anything focused on Christmas. Really, I don’t want to read anything that has such a narrow focus as one particular holiday. If it covers a holiday in the course of the book, fine. But if it is only about one particular holiday, yeah no thanks.

    • jehara says:

      When I was initially thinking about seasonal winter books, I was not thinking specifically of Christmas books. I was wondering if people read a specific genre, classics perhaps, or chunksters? Are there certain books that are conducive to curling up with a blanket on a cold wintry day? Although, Christmas does seem to be the genre most think of where winter is concerned. 😉

  6. Bumbles says:

    I hibernate in the winter and like to save the lengthier reads for those months. I do enjoy a good scary thriller near Halloween, but avoid holiday books in general, regardless of the season. I will save beachy books for when I am actually planning to be on a beach though – I like to be in the same setting as what I’m reading in that regard – makes it easier to jump into the book’s world I guess?

Leave a Reply

