Oops!

I totally forgot that I’m on the schedule to post today!  Whoopsie!

I don’t have any reviews prepared, because I’m halfway through three different books. (Yes, I have ADOS, also known as attention deficit ooh! shiny!)

But an author I only recently began reading passed away last Thursday, and I thought it would be cool to share some of his quotations.  Christopher Hitchens, a notable atheist, was a notable writer as well. Whether you agree or not with his opinions, you can’t deny that he had a unique way of looking at the world.

“That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence.”

“The only position that leaves me with no cognitive dissonance is atheism. It is not a creed. Death is certain, replacing both the siren-song of Paradise and the dread of Hell. Life on this earth, with all its mystery and beauty and pain, is then to be lived far more intensely: we stumble and get up, we are sad, confident, insecure, feel loneliness and joy and love. There is nothing more; but I want nothing more.”

“To terrify children with the image of hell, to consider women an inferior creation—is that good for the world?”

“Literature, not scripture, sustains the mind and –since there is no other metaphor–also the soul.”

If you’re intrigued by what he had to say, you might want to start with The Portable Atheist. If you like that, then you will easily be able to find his other works.  While I’m not an atheist, I respect the way he chose to live his life. I feel that he lived with integrity, which far too few people seem able to do because of cognitive dissonance.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Faith, Quotations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oops!

  1. Heather says:

    Yes, I was very saddened by his death. Although I didn’t agree with him on many things, he was a rather intriguing and remarkable human being. The world is a bit less without him in it. Thanks for sharing some of his quotes!

  2. My son would be interested in his works.

Leave a Reply

