Rainy Days

There’s something about a good rainy day that makes me wish I could stay home snuggled in a blanket with my dog snuggled next to me snoozing while I read.  Alas, duty calls and I must go to work, and leave my dog snoozing on the blanket all by herself.

And I don’t have a review today because the pain in my mouth (infected wisdom tooth) has been so severe I haven’t been able to concentrate on reading so I’ve been either working, watching movies, or sleeping.

Last night I watched April Showers, a movie based on the Columbine shootings. It made me cry. The sound quality stunk–I ended up having to put on the subtitles so I wouldn’t miss any dialogue. But the acting was incomparable.  The movie deftly communicated the during and aftermath of such a horrifying experience.

I’m one of those people who believes that if we don’t study history, we are condemned to repeat it. I also, like the Elephant’s Child, have insatiable curiosity. What happened at Columbine, Westboro Baptist Church, Virginia Tech, what happened anywhere that someone decided to take explosives and guns and kill people must be understood, because it is only in the understanding that we have even a slight chance of preventing it.

There are a few books, both fiction and nonfiction, that attempt to explore the realities around such horrifying events.

  • Columbine by Dave Cullen
  • Columbine: a true crime story. a victim, the killers and the nation’s search for answers by Jeff Kass
  • No Easy Answers: the truth behind death at Columbine by Rob Merritt and Brooks Brown
  • Comprehending Columbine by Ralph W. Larkin
  • Joy and Carnage by Jeremy McNabb (fiction)
  • Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult (fiction)

Some of these books I have read, others are still on my TBR list. But I salute the authors who do their best to solve a perhaps unsolvable puzzle.

There are more films, as well, addressing this issue:

  • April Showers
  • Elephant (which I highly, highly recommend)
  • Bang Bang You’re Dead
  • Home Room
  • Zero Day

In the end, none of us can know exactly why, who, how, when, or where someone might make decisions that lead them down this path. But perhaps through understanding as much as we can, we can take actions every day that may help prevent it.

About a thinker

I am. And today, that's good enough.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy Days

  1. jehara says:

    I really want to read Dave Cullen’s book. I have that on my TBR list.

    You recommended Nineteen Minutes to me years ago, which I finally did get around to reading a couple of years ago. I really liked it. I thought Picoult did a good job getting inside everyone’s mind from the killer to his mom to the detective to his best friend.

    I saw the Van Sant movie ages ago. I can’t remember the name of it. It may be the Elephant movie you are referencing. It was really good. V did directed Bang Bang You’re Dead in college. It was very moving.

  2. Emma says:

    I’ve read Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult and like all her books, I really enjoyed it. Haven’t seen April Showers but will try and find a copy of it.

Leave a Reply

