Quirky Girls Rule

The Best Thing I Did Last Year, While The Quirky Girls Had My Back


What’s the best thing I did last year? I survived to tell the tale of the birth of my one and only child – baby Sam. The birth itself was not so fantastic. Meeting the little boy that hung out with me for 9 months as a mystery was the fantastic part. But another awesome thing I did last year was to be a part of the inaugural year of Quirky Girls Read.

I have been blogging solo for a little over three years. I can do whatever I want there. Including not posting anything for weeks at a time because the best thing I did last year demands my constant attention. Over here on this group blog, I live within a democratic structure. I am counted on to provide content and interaction. This means that when the best thing I did last year takes a blessed nap, I use that time to do my part for the Quirky Girls. But what it also means is that when the best thing I did last year refuses to give me time to read, write or think, my Quirky Girls step in for me to keep this group effort going. Much better than having a Christmas post sitting up on my personal blog through the end of January. No one has my back on my solo site.

Group blogging, when the group likes each other, is a brilliant way to blog. We have constant content up for consideration without having to constantly create it all alone. We present a rainbow of opinions on as many genres as your library or bookstore can catalogue. We bring in our own bloggy friends from our solo sites, and they get to congregate here and meet folks from very different walks of life.

But we don’t just each have our own handful of scheduled posts to produce and then move on our merry way. We conspire to read and review things together, to develop features together, to participate in each others challenges, and to leave comments for each other. Between us, we also manage to figure out the technological challenges the blogosphere presents.

I have learned so much through Quirky Girls Read. I have added lots and lots of intriguing books to my hopeful pile of titles to get to some day when the best thing I did last year graduates from high school. I have been introduced to new-to-me authors. I have been encouraged to venture within genres I previously snubbed. And I have discovered that a thespian Texan and her Chaucer obsessed BFF sister, an RV loving grandmother in the Pacific Northwest, a yoga loving vegetarian adjusting to the Arizona weather and a sports loving lunatic from Boston have WAY more in common than you might think. Quirky Girls rule.

Thanks for supporting us in our first year! Be sure to take part in our celebratory giveaways and stick around for all kinds of quirky fun lined up for the year to come.

About thebumbles

In addition to online Freelance Writing, Molly blogs about books on Quirky Girls Read and about everything else on The Bumbles Blog. Visit her often and let her know what you think! Unless you are a Yankee fan - then there might be a problem ;0)
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Posts by Molly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Quirky Girls Rule

  1. Amy says:

    First of all, Sam is ADORABLE!! This is a great picture of him…he looks a little unsure of being cought playing with his toes, like uh-oh! lol

    I’m so happy for you group=blogging worked out so well. You’ve all created a wonderful site here and the variety of books to be found on this one blog is fantastic.

    Here’s to another wonderful year of shared blogging!

  2. izzybella says:

    I love gratuitous Sam pics. You may post/send them at any time. 😀

  3. kaye says:

    Quirky Girls do rule! And I agree–Sammy was the best thing you did last year.

  4. Kathleen says:

    Cutest picture of Sammy EVER…he gets cuter and cuter every time you post a pic. I read Quirky Girls but need to comment more. You gals have done a great thing together! Rock on!

  5. Margot says:

    It HAS been a great year!! I’ve loved all of it too, including pictures of that sweet baby. I agree with Amy – Sammy is definitely saying something in that picture. lol Well written post, Molly.

  6. jehara says:

    I love how you put this, Molly!!! Well said!

  7. stacybuckeye says:

    I love you quirky girls and that best thing you did last year is pretty awesome too 🙂

Leave a Reply

