Izzybella Remembers 2011 (or We Owe It All to Jehara)

I always imagined group blogs as really cool net-centric cliques-places where all the cool kids hang out.  I loved visiting and reading group blogs (visit our blog roll for some really great sites) and commenting.  I loved the way each little clique invited me in by allowing me some input on their thoughts.  I loved the diversity from different points of view as well the group personality as a whole.  But I never expected to be invited to join a group blog.  Jehara is an unusual girl, though.  Quirky, you might say.  She conceived a meeting place where book lovers could gather and make friends.  Where in any given week, you could have book reviews ranging from Pulitzer Prize Winners to classics to YA fiction to non-fiction books of every kind.  And then she asked me to be a part of it.  Like the other quirky girls, I had to think about it for exactly one nano-second or so before saying yes.

Now let’s face it.  I’m hardly a cool kid.  The word nerd springs to mind. But am I lucky to be a part of QGR?  Oh, yes!!  I’ve gotten to review old favorites, discover new authors and stories, make friends both in and outside of the blog and I’ve had a blast doing it.  I met a bunch of other quirky girls who make this venture ridiculous fun.  It’s basically an embarrassment of riches, and you, gentle reader, have been a huge part of that.  But without our yoga loving vegetarian friend from Arizona, none of us would be here today.  Cheers to you Jehara and love from all the quirky girls, the bloggers and the readers!!

About izzybella

Just trying to figure it all out.
This entry was posted in Posts by Izzy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Izzybella Remembers 2011 (or We Owe It All to Jehara)

  1. jehara says:

    Awwwww. Thanks for the love letter, lady. 😉

    P.S. Now that I live in AZ, I tell people I am from Texas. I never wanted to claim Texas when I was there using the multiple moves as a child to hedge, but now that I have left I have come to terms with the fact that I am, in fact, from there. I suppose I am contrary like that. 😉

  2. Margot says:

    Izzybella: Nerds are the new cool. Let’s just call ourselves book-nerds and we can be as cool as we want. It’s been great getting to know you.

  3. Bumbles says:

    Izzy – that is a super sweet tribute to our fearless leader. Well done!

Leave a Reply

