Book Review: The Goddess Test

Book Cover Image: The Goddess TestName of Book: The Goddess Test
By: Aimée Carter
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Copyright Date: 2011
Number of Pages: 304
Format: YA fiction, paranormal
Reason for Reading: cover love
Source: library
Rating: B

The Gist:

Ever since Persephone left Henry for a mortal, he has had to rule the Underworld alone. There have been a series of girls that have been selected to try to pass the seven tests; however, they have all been sabotaged by someone lurking in Henry’s realm that doesn’t want any of the girls to succeed. Henry is on the verge of giving up and relinquishing his realm; however, there is one more girl to be tested. Will Kate pass the tests?

My Thoughts:

I have always been fascinated by the story of Persephone, the Underworld, and the six pomegranate seeds that kept her there for half the year. So I was intrigued by this modern retelling.

The story is quick paced and it pulled me in right away. I started the book on the train during my morning commute. I was sucked in by the story and stole more reading time on my breaks and during lunch. I was halfway through the book by the end of the day. I was enjoying the story so much that all I wanted to do was go home and finish it, which I did. I spent the evening curled up on the couch with a  cup of peppermint tea and this book.

The writing itself isn’t necessarily beautiful or breathtaking; however, it isn’t clunky. It’s a little like eating candy—very easy  to consume, consume a lot, and in a short amount of time. The story is mostly plot-driven, however, the characters were fleshed out enough for me to get invested. There were some really tender and beautiful moments between Henry and Kate that melted my heart. I thought the dialogue between them was really sweet and heartfelt. I think Carter does a good job navigating the emotional waters of first love.

Last Words:

Sweet and lighthearted retelling of the Persephone myth.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Posts by Jehara, YA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: The Goddess Test

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve actually ordered this in from my local bookstore and it sounds like this one is a winner. I’ve been suffering from love triangle fatigue lately and maybe this could offer me some respite.

Leave a Reply

